Best New Indie: 9 songs you need to discover this week

Fresh cuts from The National, Big Thief, Vampire Weekend, and more

Although it was a pretty brutal week for weather, there were tons of outstanding tracks to hit streaming services, so make the best of the rain and curl up inside, listening to some fresh cuts.

With killer new releases from indie giants like The National, Big Thief, Vampire Weekend, Violent Femmes, Bastille, and more, and rad new singles from up-and-coming artists like Superet and Absolutely Free, there’s no way you’ll run out of excellent indie finds this week.

Check out the best new indie tunes from this week below.

The National – “Hairpin Turns”

The National have released a sparse black-and-white video for their new single “Hairpin Turns” off of their forthcoming album I Am Easy To Find. “Hairpin Turns” is a slowly building track that grows from a hollow, slightly electronic tune into a layered, texturally strong ballad that revolves around frontman Matt Berninger’s raspy croons.

Big Thief – “Century”

Big Thief have released “Century,” a laidback track that comes packed with a jangly guitar lick, grumbling bass lines, and frontwoman Adrianne Lenker’s airy vocals. “Century” is an easy listening melodic tune that revolves around the band’s innovative songwriting style, as they make the familiar genre feel new again.

Vampire Weekend – “Stranger”

Vampire Weekend have finally dropped their highly-anticipated, versatile new album, Father of the Bride. The 11-track album opens with a hymn-like Danielle Haim collaboration that revolves around a sweet guitar line as hollow, echoing vocals build in the background. As the album progresses, it weaves in and out of a variety of genres, from the prog rock vibes of “Sunflower (feat. Steve Lacy)” to 70’s-influenced bops like standout track “Stranger” to intimate piano-based ballads like the closing track “Jerusalem, New York, Berlin.”

Violent Femmes – “Hotel Last Resort”

Folk-punk band Violent Femmes have just announced their forthcoming album, Hotel Last Resort, and as part of the announcement they’ve dropped the title track, which features Television guitarist Tom Verlaine. The surreal five-minute long tune comes packed with warped acoustic strumming, Verlaine’s groovy guitar lines, and gritty, waning vocal lines as frontman Gordon Gano sings lines like “I don’t change the chords anymore/ The chords change themselves.”

The Get Up Kids – “Waking Up Alone”

The Get Up Kids have just dropped “Waking Up Alone,” the latest track off of their forthcoming album Problems. The fuzzy new tune comes packed with a quirky, scaling synth line, a pounding drum beat, distorted heavy guitar lines, and frontman Matt Pryor’s wailing vocals. The rambunctious, fun-loving track will get you bopping around the room, as Pryor sings catchy looping lines like, “Ou, c’est la vie, mon ami/ We never have to apologize for the lies that we use to survive.”

Absolutely Free featuring U.S. Girls’ Meg Remy – “Currency”

Toronto prog pop trio Absolutely Free have made their official return with “Currency,” a collaborative track that features U.S. Girls’ Meg Remy. Remy takes the lead vocals on this tune as her gritty, processed voice takes the forefront atop an energetic post-punk shuffle. “Currency” comes packed with suspense-filled, punchy guitar lines, ambient synths, and a groovy drum beat, making for an explosive disco-influenced tune.

Calexico and Iron & Wine – “Midnight Sun”

While gearing up for the release of their forthcoming collaborative album, Years to Burn, Calexico and Iron & Wine have shared an animated video for their new track “Midnight Sun.” The track is a layered, reverberated folk track that revolves around a looping guitar riff and a booming drum line. “I arrived at our rental house the day before everyone else and was happy to find a piano, old pump organ, and guitar to do some writing,” Calexico’s Joey Burns explained in a statement.

Bastille – “Joy”

British indie pop outfit Bastille have just dropped a new track “Joy” off of their forthcoming album, Doom Days, which drops on June 14th. The track “takes the listener on a big night out in search of distraction from the surrounding apocalypse,” the band explains in a press release. “Joy” serves as the closing track on the album, and it revolves around an uplifting instrumental, a driving drum beat, and frontman Dan Smith’s distinctive throaty vocals, making for an energetic synth pop banger.

Superet – “Bone Bag”

Los Angeles-based indie rock band Superet have just dropped “Bone Bag,” the third single off of their forthcoming album, How To Work A Room. The gritty new track revolves around a driving, distorted bass line, a dreamy synth riff, and wailing, moody vocals that rival the likes of Muse’s Matt Bellamy. “Bone Bag” is a perfect balance of 80s-influenced instrumentals and killer, rowdy rock riffs as the track comes packed with punchy, thought-provoking lyrics like, “Now I walk alone with my bag of bones, you know/ I live in an institution.”