Best New Indie: 9 songs you need to discover this week

Fresh cuts from Blink-182, Florence + The Machine, The Dirty Nil, and more!

Whether you’re trying to hide from the heat wave, or you want some tunes to listen to in the sun, there were so many rad fresh cuts to be added to your playlists this week!

With killer tracks from indie giants like Blink-182, Florence + The Machine, Belle and Sebastian, and Daughter, and amazing tunes from up and coming artists like The Dirty Nil, Ralph, and Girlfriend Material, you’ll have these songs playing on repeat all week long.

Check out the best new indie tunes from this week below.

Blink-182 – “Happy Days”

Blink-182 have marked the 182nd day of the year by releasing a new track titled “Happy Days.” The band took to Twitter to make the announcement for the new single with the caption “It’s the 182nd day of the year which means it’s Blink-182 day! To celebrate, here is our new song ‘Happy Days’. Consume it where you usually consume music.” “Happy Days” is the pop punk band has released this year, alongside “Generational Divide” and “Blame It On My Youth.”

Florence + The Machine – “Donkey Kosh” and “My Best Dress”

Florence + the Machine have announced that they will be celebrating the 10th anniversary of their debut album Lungs with the release of a box set, which will drop on August 16th. As part of the announcement, they’ve released two previously unheard demos, “Donkey Kosh” and “My Best Dress.”

The special edition is set to be available both digitally and physically, with a cloth-bound deluxe box set featuring the original album on pinky vinyl, an LP of bonus material, postcards, and inserts with unseen images from the time. The box set, which will be priced at $89.98, will see three previously unreleased demos, a rare acoustic version of “My Boy Builds Coffins,” and a cover of the Beatles’ “Oh! Darling.”

Daughter – “Poke (Frightened Rabbit cover)”

Daughter have dropped a haunting cover of Frightened Rabbit’s “Pole” for the new compilation album, Tiny Changes. The UK three-piece have dropped a sparse, intimate take on “Poke,” as frontwoman Elena Tonra wails the band’s beautiful lyrics atop layers and layers of processed instrumental lines. Now, Daughter joins the likes of Julien Baker, Biffy Clyde, Death Cab For Cutie, and more in covering tracks from Frightened Rabbit’s The Midnight Organ Fight for Tiny Changes.

The Dirty Nil – “Oowatanite (April Wine cover)” and “Unchained (Van Halen cover)”

After covering Culture Abuse’s “So Busted” and The Jesus And Mary Chain’s “Head On,” The Dirty Nil have dropped You’re Welcome II, the second installment in a series of cover sets. The new collection sees the punk rockers covering April Wine’s “Oowatanite” and Van Halen’s “Unchained.” Their rendition of “Oowatanite” feels almost reminiscent of Green Day, as frontman Luke Bentham wails the gritty rock-centric vocal lines atop a distorted guitar riff and pounding drum beat. “Unchained,” on the other hand, is more of a classic rock cover, as screeching vocal lines of the renowned Van Halen lyrics take the forefront on this head banging track.

Belle & Sebastian – “Sister Buddha”

Scottish indie band Belle and Sebastian have just released a music video for their new single “Sister Buddha.” The video is directed by The Inbetweeners‘ Simon Bird. “Sister Buddha” is a fun indie pop track that is perfectly poised and has an innate innocence with a slight touch of melancholy. The video is in full monochrome and follows a young woman in her daily life, from working to engaging in activities of all sorts. Frontman Stuart Murdoch is seen singing about the young woman’s journey.

Ralph – “Gravity”

Toronto pop artist Ralph has dropped a video for her new track “Gravity.” “When I was younger, Electric Circus was the coolest thing happening in Toronto,” Ralph explains of the track. “I would try to stay up late so I could watch the furry cowboy hats and tube tops on TV, and I truly wanted to grow up so I could dance at EC. This song is an ode to 90s house with a contemporary pop flair. I want to make people dance to this one.”

Girlfriend Material – “Stay In Touch”

Toronto four-piece Girlfriend Material, which features Tokyo Police Club’s Graham Wright and Josh Hook and Hollerado’s Jake Boyd, have released a lyric video for their new track, “Stay In Touch.” “Stay In Touch” is a gritty, guitar-driven track with quirky lyricism like, “It’s so good to see you again/ I know I always say ‘Let’s Stay In Touch’/ But this time let’s really stay in touch.” The accompanying lyric video features a model of the vehicle from the Cool Car album cover driving through a snowy cardboard town.