Best New Indie: 9 songs you need to discover this week

Fresh cuts from King Princess, Carly Rae Jepsen, Big Thief, and more

The weather is dropping, but the number of killer new tunes is getting higher and higher.

It’s been a huge week for new music, with unbelievable new tunes from renowned artists like Carly Rae Jepsen, Neil Young and Crazy Horse, Chvrches, Sleater-Kinney, and more! There have also been some rad fresh cuts from up-and-coming acts like King Princess, Big Thief, Cherry Glazerr, and more.

Check out the best new indie tunes from this week below.

King Princess – “Hit The Back”

While gearing up for the release of her forthcoming album Cheap Queen, King Princess has released a new track called “Hit The Back.” This track is sure to become a queer anthem, and King Princess forwardly describes it as “the anthem for bottoms everywhere.” While the silky tune opens as a slow, piano-based ballad, the song eventually explodes into the most upbeat track she’s ever released. With a punchy, dance-worthy beat and a groove-heavy instrumental line, you’ll definitely be playing this fun-loving track on repeat.

Holy Fuck – “Luxe (feat. Alexis Taylor)”

Holy Fuck have announced their forthcoming album Deleter, which is set for release on January 17th. As part of the announcement, they’ve shared “Luxe,” which features Hot Chip’s Alexis Taylor. “The robots are smarter than ever, and the algorithm knows more and more what we like as individuals,” Holy Fuck explains of the forthcoming record in a press release. “We have to remind ourselves that there is music in the margins that can go missing and that that music is more important than ever.”

Carly Rae Jepsen – “Don’t Speak (No Doubt cover)”

Carly Rae Jepsen is the latest artist to participate in the Spotify Singles series, where she recorded a cover of No Doubt’s “Don’t Speak” and a new rendition of “Want You In My Room. Jepsen’s cover of the 1995 hit track is pretty true to the original, as her distinctive vocal lines come layered atop a distinctively 90’s guitar line.

Big Thief – “Forgotten Eyes”

While gearing up for the release of Two Hands, their second album of the year, Big Thief have shared a new single called “Forgotten Eyes.” The visceral track revolves around a rootsy sound, with stripped back, yet textured instrumental lines as frontwoman Adrienne Lenker’s perfectly wailing vocals take the lead. Lenker’s lyricism truly shines on this track, as she sings vulnerable, pained lines like “Forgotten hands are the ones which we choose/ To let go of, but it is no less a bruise/ On the collective arm.”

Chvrches – “Death Stranding”

Chvrches have made their return by releasing a new track called “Death Stranding.” The tune is part of a collaboration between the Scottish indie trio and legendary video game creator Hideo Kojima, who is working on a new project called DEATH STRANDING: Timefall. Chvrches’ “Death Stranding” will be featured on the game’s soundtrack alongside other original songs from artists like Khalid, the Neighbourhood, Flora Cash, and more.

Sleater-Kinney – “ANIMAL”

Sleater-Kinney have released “ANIMAL,” the first new song since the release of their St. Vincent-produced record The Center Won’t Hold. “ANIMAL” still features drummer Janet Weiss, who left the band this year. The new tune revolves around a gritty guitar line and driven drum beat as Corin Tucker’s vocals really stand out. Tucker truly wails on this tune, letting out almost primal screams.

Cherry Glazerr – “Call Me (feat. Portugal. The Man)”

Cherry Glazerr have dropped a new collaboration with Portugal. The Man titled “Call Me.” “Call Me” is a blistering, silky track filled with funky grooves, grungy guitar riffs, and a rolling drum line. The lyrics serve as a sort of call and response between Cherry Glazerr frontwoman Clementine Creevy and Portugal. The Man vocalist John Gourley, as they sing lines like, “I’ve got a message you won’t believe/ I’ve got a message that you can’t read.

Neil Young and Crazy Horse – “A love letter from us”

After the release of “Rainbow of Colors” and “Milky Way,” Neil Young and Crazy Horse have released a brief instrumental titled “A love letter from us.” he new track is just over a minute long, and serves as an ode to Earth. The beautiful track comes with a short video that delivers different messages about why Earth is an important place. “Thanks for being our home,” Young wrote of the track on the Neil Young Archives site.

Metronomy – “Wedding Bells – IDLES ‘Til Dev do us Party Remix”

Bristol punks IDLES have remixed Metronomy’s “Wedding Bells.” “Metronomy were one of the first bands IDLES connected over,” guitarist and remixer Mark Bowen explains. “We saw their live show, when they had the push lights on their chests and did the awesome dance routines, that emboldened us to think more and put more into our live shows. There is also something about the way they use discordant notes and soundclashes in a very blissful way that informs much of our own songwriting.”