HomeNew ReleasesBest New IndieBest New Indie: 9 songs you need to discover this week

Best New Indie: 9 songs you need to discover this week

It has been a huge week for new tracks.

Some of the biggest artists the indie genre has to offer have released new tracks this week, including The Strokes, Billie Eilish, Tame Impala, Grimes, King Princess, and more. You’ll have so much new music to listen to all weekend long with these unbelievable fresh cuts. Check out the best new indie tracks from this week below.

This Indie88 feature is presented with Zed80.


The Strokes – “At The Door”

The Strokes have announces their forthcoming album The New Abnormal, which is set for release on April 10th, and as part of the announcement they’ve shared a video for their new track “At The Door.” The new track is a gritty, expansive five-minute tune that revolves around a sparse synth line as frontman Julian Casablancas lets his voice truly take the lead. The accompanying video is an animated psychedelic, sci-fi clip from Mike Burkaroff.


Billie Eilish – “No Time To Die”

Billie Eilish has shared her highly anticipated Bond theme, “No Time To Die.” The track, which is named after the forthcoming film, sees the young star truly harnessing melancholy, action, and danger all in one. The slow-burning tune, which was written with her brother Finneas, revolves around a building instrumental, that eventually reaches a grand, orchestral instrumental background as Eilish’s smooth vocals take the lead.

Tame Impala – “One More Year”

Tame Impala have shared their highly anticipated new album, The Slow Rush. The new album, which marks the band’s follow-up to Currents, features groovy, technicolour instrumentals as frontman Kevin Parker continues to sing about the battle between trying to better yourself and giving into your darkest thoughts. “One More Year” is a pretty different track for Tame Impala, almost calling to the likes of a Robyn track.

Grimes – “Delete Forever”

Grimes has shared “Delete Forever,” the latest track off of her forthcoming album Miss Anthropocene, which drops on February 21st. “It’s a pretty bummer song,” Grimes explains to Zane Lowe on Apple Beats 1. “I’m so bad at talking about this song. I guess it’s kind of about the opioid epidemic…I’ve had quite a few friends pass away, in particular, one friend when I was 18 passed away from complications related to opioid addiction. Artists keep dying and stuff so I wrote this song on the night Lil Peep died.”

King Princess – “Ohio”

King Princess has announced that she’ll be releasing a deluxe edition of her debut album, Cheap Queen, which drops on February 14th. As part of the announcement, she’s shared a video for “Ohio.” King Princess has been playing the much-coveted fan favourite, “Ohio,” live over the past year, and the track has a slow build before it truly explodes into a gritty, distorted, guitar-driven banger.

Born Ruffians – “Dedication”

Toronto’s Born Ruffians have shared a quirky infomercial video for their new track “Dedication,” alongside their very own Dedication Hotline at 1-855-909-0280, which you can call for more information. The new tune is about destruction. “Dedication to global destruction in the name of greed, glory and God,” frontman Luke LaLonde explains. “All of our stupid human follies and fancies. Easter Island on a global scale. How everything modern and human may be designed and dedicated to consumption and death.”

U.S. Girls – “4 American Dollars”

While gearing up for the release of Heavy Light, Toronto collective U.S. Girls have shared a video for the album’s opening track, “4 American Dollars.” The new tune revolves around the US economy and the idea of the American dream atop a frantic rhythm, silky instrumentals, and frontwoman Meg Remy’s distinctive vocals, as she sings lines like, “You can do a lot with four American dollars/ No Matter how much you get to have/ You will still die and that’s the only thing.”

Carly Rae Jepsen – “Let’s Be Friends”

Carly Rae Jepsen has dropped a catchy new breakup track “Let’s Be Friends.” “‘Let’s Be Friends’ is about the little lie we all share to soften the blow of a breakup,” Jepsen said in a press release. “This Valentine’s Day I’d prefer to just rip off the band aid. See you never!” The upbeat song is accompanied by sassy lyrics like “Let’s be friends then never speak again/ It’s cool we can just pretend we’re friends and never speak again/ See you soon, hope we can remain good friends,” that carries the sentiment of never wanting to see an ex again.

X Ambassadors – “Everything Sounds Like a Love Song”

X Ambassadors have announced their forthcoming EP Belong, which is set for release on March 6th. As part of the announcement, they’ve shared “Everything Sounds Like a Love Song.” “‘Everything Sounds Like A Love Song’ is a song about missing the love of your life,” frontman Sam Nelson Harris explains. “When everything you see, hear, and smell reminds you of them, and how painful it can be witnessing beauty when your heart is broken. Like the universe is just playing tricks on you.”

Listen to our Best New Indie playlist below!

Most Popular