HomeNew ReleasesBest New IndieBest New Indie: 9 songs you need to discover this week

Best New Indie: 9 songs you need to discover this week

We may all still be practicing social distancing, but through this time we’ve been gifted with some pretty amazing new tracks.

This week, we’ve gotten a perfect balance of new music, with fresh cuts from indie giants like PUP, HAIM, Big Thief, Nick Cave, and more, and new tunes from up-and-coming acts like Braids and New Fries.

Check out this week’s best new indie below.

PUP – “Anaphylaxis”

PUP have shared a video for their new single “Anaphylaxis.” The track feels like quintessential PUP, with layers of gritty guitar and a raucous drum line as frontman Stefan Babcock’s wailing vocals take the lead. The track comes accompanied by a claymation video for Callum Scott-Dyson.

HAIM – “I Know Alone”

While gearing up for the release of Women In Music Pt. III, HAIM have dropped a video for their new single “I Know Alone.” The new track deals with loneliness and isolation atop a catchy beat, dreamy synth lines, and a mournful cello. “‘I Know Alone’ was always going to be the next song we released, but it feels eerily appropriate given what’s going on in the world right now,” HAIM explain of the new track. “We hope this song keeps you company.”

Big Thief – “Love In Mine”

Big Thief have shared a new standalone single called “Love In Mine.” The track, which is an outtake from the recording sessions for Two Hands, was originally released as a B-side on a 7-inch that was mailed out to select fans last year. The soft track revolves around an acoustic instrumental line and soft, yet perfectly strained vocals.

Nick Cave – “Cosmic Dancer (T.Rex Cover)”

Saturday Night Live sketch music producer Hall Willner passed away from COVID-19 a few weeks ago, and he had been working on a star-studded T.Rex tribute album. The compilation will be called AngelHeaded Hipster: The Songs Of Marc Bolan And T.Rex, and this week we were gifted Nick Cave’s rendition of “Cosmic Dancer.”

Khruangbin – “Time (You And I)”

Khruangbin have announced a new album called Mordechai, which drops on June 26th. As part of the announcement, the funk outfit has shared a video for their new track “Time (You And I).” The silky new track comes as a blend of funk, soul, and disco with sharp rhythms and smooth guitars. The band’s Laura Lee Ochoa’s soft, swooning vocal lines blend perfectly with the groovy instrumentals, giving the song a bit of a dreamy tinge to it.

The Dears – “I Know What You’re Thinking And It’s Awful”

Montreal quintet The Dears have shared a dark, unsettling new single called “I Know What You’re Thinking And It’s Awful.” “This is a song that came in rather suddenly,” the band’s Murray Lightburn explains. “I woke up one morning and there it was, playing in my head. The news story of a manhunt for a couple of teenage kids who were charged with 2nd degree murder played in the background. I finished the song as news broke that two male bodies found were believed to be them. I am not at all saying the song is about this story, only that I was totally obsessed with this story as I wrote this song.”

Braids – “Just Let Me”

While gearing up for the release of Shadow Offering on June 19th, Montreal indie trio Braids have shared a video for their new track “Just Let Me.” “The song was born of a desire to get through to one’s partner, to work through those feelings of complacency, stagnation, of pointless arguments,” the band explains. “When you feel your partner, through sitting across the table from you, is further away than if they were not there at all. It’s a yearning to understand how a love that was once there and so clear, could slip away.”

Mt. Joy – “Death”

While gearing up for the release of their forthcoming album Rearrange Us, which is set for release on June 5th, Mt. Joy have shared a new track called “Death.” “I’m not suicidal, but I think we’re constantly being reminded of our mortality and at times I’m at least aware of the peace that comes with death,” Quinn explains. “I was hoping this song would remind people and myself that there are so many family members/friends here on earth that want to help us find our peace, and there really is so much beauty here, especially when you let people help you.”

New Fries – “Ploce”

Toronto-based experimental band New Fries have dropped “Ploce” off of their forthcoming album Is The Idea Of Us. “Ploce is the name of Tim’s fish who passed away – the figure of speech (not the place in Croatia),” the band explain of the new song. “It refers to words repeated for emphasis. On the internet some examples provided are:

‘I am stuck on Band-Aid, and Band-Aid’s stuck on me.’

‘First she ruins my life. And then she ruins my life!'”

Listen to our Best New Indie playlist below!

Most Popular