Best New Indie: 9 songs you need to discover this week

Featuring The Shins, The Smashing Pumpkins, Tame Impala, and more

Yet another huge week for new tracks!

Your playlists are sure to be stacked with fresh cuts from indie giants like The Shins, The Smashing Pumpkins, The Pixies, Kurt Vile, John Prine, and a Blood Orange remix of Tame Impala.

Check out this week’s Best New Indie below.

The Shins – “The Great Divide”

Albuquerque, New Mexico-born indie outfit The Shins have returned with their first new song in two years, “The Great Divide.” It marks the first new material since 2017’s Heartworms and its 2018 collection of “flipped versions” of those same songs, The Heart’s Worm.

Tame Impala – “Borderline (Blood Orange remix)”

Blood Orange has remixed Tame Impala’s The Slow Rush track “Borderline.” This is the latest Tame Impala remix to be release, following Four Tet’s reworking of “Is It True,” and Tame Impala’s remix of 070 Shake’s “Guilty Conscience.” Blood Orange’s new version of the track comes packed with bubbling electronics, making for a fresh take on the psychedelic tune.

The Smashing Pumpkins – “Wrath” and “Confessions Of A Dopamine Addict”

The Smashing Pumpkins have released two new tracks called “Wrath” and “Confessions Of A Dopamine Addict.” The new tracks follow previously released singles “Cyr” and “The Colour of Love,” and they come from the band’s forthcoming double album CYR, which is set for release on November 27th.

Like the previously releases, “Wrath” and “Confessions Of A Dopamine Addict” see Smashing Pumpkins moving toward a dark synth pop.

The Pixies – “Hear Me Out”

The Pixies have released a video for their new track called “Hear Me Out.” The new tune, which was taken from the recording sessions for 2019’s Beneath the Eyrie, will feature on a 12-inch vinyl single with a cover of T-Rex’s “Mambo Sun.” The accompanying video falls a man wearing a cowboy hat trekking through a sparse desert, encountering a variety of characters along the way.

Kurt Vile – “How Lucky (feat. John Prine)”

Kurt Vile has announced his new EP Speed, Sound, Lonely KV (ep), which is set for release on October 2nd. As part of the announcement, Vile has shared a cover of John Prine’s “How Lucky,” which features the late Prine himself. The track, which was recorded prior to Prine’s death earlier this year, marks Prine’s second posthumous recording, following “I Remember Everything.”

Charlotte Cardin – “Passive Aggressive”

While gearing up for the release of her debut album, Montreal’s Charlotte Cardin has made her return with a video for hew new track “Passive Aggressive,” which marks her first new music in almost two years. The new track is “basically a song about the relief, celebration, and liberation you feel once you get rid of a toxic relationship,” Cardin explains. “It’s about a very passive aggressive ex and just those toxic vibes. It’s being happy to be on your own and embrace your inner strength.”

Yves Jarvis – “In Every Mountain”

While gearing up for the release of Sundry Rock Song Stock, which is set for release tomorrow, Yves Jarvis has shared a video for his new track “In Every Mountain.” Jarvis describes the track as “one consciousness!” The accompanying video has a vintage feel to it as Jarvis plays the drums and sings along to the track in front of a destroyed car.

Metz – “Blind Youth Industrial Park”

While gearing up for the release of Atlas Vending, which is set to drop on October 9th, METZ have shared a video for their new single “Blind Youth Industrial Park.” The new dystopian clip, which was shot in New Zealand, follows a woman as she drags an injured companion on a stretcher while being followed by a group of armed soldiers.

Listen to our Best New Indie playlist below!