HomeMusicFeatures & ListsBest New Indie: 9 Songs You Need to Discover This Week

Best New Indie: 9 Songs You Need to Discover This Week

One last October heat wave had it feeling like summer in Toronto this week, but now the weather has turned and it’s time to lock ourselves inside with a warm blanket and a rad soundtrack.

It’s a great week for new music, with full-length records from indie heavyweights like Kurt Vile and Elvis Costello & the Imposters arriving. Other albums that should be on your radar include the latest from Matthew Dear and the debut effort from mysterious glam rocker Art d’Ecco. We’ve had a fruitful few days with new tracks rolling in from some of our favourites, including Middle Kids, Thom Yorke, Maggie Rogers, and more.

Here is a sampling of the week’s best new indie.

Middle Kids – “Salt Eyes”

After the release of their self-titled debut, Middle Kids have just shared a new track called “Salt Eyes.”

Thom Yorke – “Volk”

Thom Yorke has just released “Volk,” another eerie instrumental tune off of his soundtrack for the upcoming horror movie reimagining, Suspiria.

Kurt Vile – “Bottle It In”

Kurt Vile’s intimate and quirky tunes are back with his new album, Bottle It In. The title track has the iconic ebb and fade of Vile’s voice atop an endearing old school country rock track.

Weezer – “Can’t Knock The Hustle”

Weezer’s long-rumoured Black Album will be released in 2019. While there’s no release date at this time, the band has rolled out the first single from the album, “Can’t Knock The Hustle.” The video stars Fall Out Boy bassist Pete Wentz as a flustered ride-share driver.

St. Vincent – “Young Lover (piano version)”

St. Vincent just shared MassEducation, a stripped down reimagining of MASSEDUCTION. The piano version of “Young Lover” is intimate and heartwrenching, so it’s definitely worth taking a listen.

Run the Jewels – “Let’s Go (The Royal We)”

Run the Jewels have just released a new single “Let’s Go (The Royal We),” which is featured on the soundtrack for the new Venom film starring Tom Hardy.

Sauna – “Over”

New Toronto supergroup Sauna features members of Weaves, Greys, and Fake Palms. Their first single is called “Over” and it was co-produced with Brian Borcherdt (Holy Fuck, Dusted, Twist).

Maggie Rogers – “Light On”

Maggie Rogers has just released a new single, “Light On,” off of her upcoming album Heard It In a Past Life.

Cloud Nothings – “So Right So Clean”

The release of the new Cloud Nothings album Last Building Burning is a week away, and in anticipation of the new record the band has released a third single “So Right So Clean.”

Most Popular