Best New Indie: 10 Songs You Need To Hear This Week

Required Weekly Listening

As we head in to the weekend, it’s good to prepare yourself for a lazy Saturday or Sunday afternoon with some fresh listens. Luckily for you, we were treated to some tasty new tunes from some of our favourite artists this week. The pickens were anything but slim.

Today we saw the much anticipated release of Father John Misty’s third studio album Pure Comedy, Canadian indie-rock venterans The New Pornographers’ Whiteout Conditions and Baltimore synthpop group Future Islands’ beautiful new album The Far Field.

Included in the best new indie tracks today is a sixth track from Gorillaz forthcoming album Humanz, a second new track from Feist and more songs worthy of your attention. Take a listen below:


Gorillaz – “Let Me Out”

Gorillaz have released another new song ahead of their forthcoming album Humanz. “Let Me Out” sees Damon Albarn’s 3D outfit enlist some help from Pusha T and Mavis Staples.

Timber Timbre – “Sincerely, Future Pollution”

On release day for their dystopian-themed album Sincerely, Future Pollution, the Toronto/Montreal native band shared a video for the album’s latest single “Grifting”.

Daddy Issues – “I’m Not”


Nashville trio Daddy Issues have shared a fuzzed out track from their forthcoming record Deep Dream ahead of its May 19th release.


Jack White – “Battle Cry”

Former White Stripes frontman Jack White shared a new single late Thursday night. “Battle Cry,” a near-instrumental stomper of a song, surfaced on various streaming services overnight. White’s first new song in two years features some chanting and shouting, but no proper vocals. Check out the track, via Third Man Records, below.


Feist – “Century”

“Century” is Feist’s newest single off her forthcoming album, Pleasure, which will be the artist’s first album since 2011 and is set to drop on April 28. Pulp frontman Jarvis Cocker lends his musical talents to Feist on her latest song.

Bjork – “Notget”

A new music video has surfaced for Björk’s “Notget VR,” from the 2015 live album Vulnicura. Directed by Warren Du Preez and Nick Thornton Jones, the video sees a graphical representation of Björk, dressed in video game graphics and swirls of light and colour. It’s enchanting in typical Björk fashion.

Strand of Oaks – “I Know You Know You’re Evil”

The 73rd track on the Trump protest collection ‘Our First 100 Days’ sees a new song from Strand of Oaks that completely deviates from the artist’s typical music. Strand of Oaks’ contribution is called “I Know YOU Know You’re Evil” and is a six-minute instrumental track. The first half of the song sounds like something that would be on a sleep sounds app, while the second half of the song is dark and intense like the soundtrack to a good horror film.  

Wilsen – “Final”

“Final” is the Brooklyn group’s second and latest single off their forthcoming album Go Missing In My Sleep (April 28th), and it’s perhaps their most illuminating track.

Taylor Knox – “Running Into Love”

Toronto singer/songwriter Taylor Knox is getting ready to release Love, his first full-length album following 2015’s EP Lines, on June 9. Knox’s latest single “Running Into Love” provides a glimpse into the singer/songwriter’s upcoming record, bringing forth a sound that has a refreshing effortlessness to it. The track is fun, light, and best listened to on an August afternoon.


The Dirty Nil – “Caroline”

The Dirty Nil have shared an unreleased track from their Minimum R&B compilation album, a fuzzed out song called “Caroline”. In a press release the band say it’s fueled by “broken vintage fuzz pedals, girls night out wine, smashing reverb tanks with hammers, a small lake of black coffee, horrible recording conditions, general negligence, beer, blood, broken bones, and broken instruments” amongst other things.