Best New Indie: 10 Songs You Need To Discover This Week

Required Weekly Listening

Well, it’s happening…summer 2017 is coming to and end and with it the warmer weather. On the bright side, it’s a long weekend starting right now, and that means kicking back and enjoying the many gifts of the season.

If you need a little catching up before the weekend, make sure you check out Weaves Stiegl Hidden Studio Session, Mac DeMarco’s new VR video for “This Old Dog” and these 10 great isolated vocal tracks from legendary artists.

Whether or not yous spend your labour day relaxing or doing actual labour (sorry retail employees), we offer this to you: the best new indie tracks of the week to help you glide through to the good times. Listen below:

Death From Above – “Holy Books”

Sebastien Grainger and Jesse F. Keeler, the duo who make up Death From Above have shared a gritty, heavy new strack off their upcoming album Outrage! Is Now, following “Never Swim Alone” and “Freeze Me.”


St. Vincent – “New York”

If you only have time to watch one music video this weekend, make sure it’s St. Vincent’s “New York.” Annie Clark collaborated with Philadelphia-based visual artist Alex Da Corte, and it’s a stunner.


Mount Kimbie – “Delta”

English duo Mount Kimbie are set to release a their new record, Love What Survives next month — their first since 2013’s Cold Spring Fault Less Youth. This week they shared the dizzying, synth-heavy “Delta.”

The National – “Day I Die”

Over five thousand images taken during a dress rehearsal in Paris make up the time-lapse-style video for The National’s latest “Day I Die.” It’s their latest from the coming album Sleep Well Beastwhich is out next Friday, September 8th.


Wolf Parade – “You’re Dreaming”

Wolf Parade’s highly anticipated fourth full-length record drops on October 6th. This week they unveiled a second track from the forthcoming release, “You’re Dreaming,” which finds Dan Boeckner at his seemingly effortless best. It follows “Valley Boy,” a very Spencer Krug number, which arrived in July.


Courtney Barnett and Kurt Vile – “Over Everything”

We’ve been waiting for a Courtney and Kurt collaboration for years, and this week our dreams were fufilled. Courtney Barnett and Kurt Vile trade lines with their signature deadpan execution in this first track from their upcoming collaborative album Lotta Sea Lice.


The Rural Alberta Advantage – “Brother”

Mark October 13 on your calendars as that is the date the Rural Alberta Advantage are set to drop their new record, The Wild. The band announced the album Tuesday morning, along with sharing an Anne Douris-directed video for new single “Brother.”


Kele Okereke – “Do U Right”

You may recognize the name, that’s because Kele Okereke is the frontman of UK-based rock group Bloc Party. He’s now sharing music from his solo project, with plans to release a full album Fatherland next month. Listen to “Do You Right” above.

Julie & The Wrong Guys – “Love & Leaving”

Canadian indie rock veteran Julie Doiron, formerly of of Eric’s Trip, has returned, sharing a heavy new track “Love & Learning.” A few weeks back she collaborated with Cancer Bats for “You Wanted What I Wanted” which is definitely worth checking out.

Matt Mays – “Drive On”

Earlier this summer Matt Mays shared an EP version of his forthcoming record Once Upon A Hell of A Time which included “Faint of Heart,” “Ola Volo,” “Sentimental Sins,” and “Station Out of Range.” He’s back again with the power rock ballad “Drive On.”