HomeNew ReleasesBest New IndieBest New Indie: 11 Songs You Need to Discover This Week

Best New Indie: 11 Songs You Need to Discover This Week

It’s been a heavy week for new music!

With new albums from staff favourites including Everything Everything and Grizzly Bear we’ve already got a long of list of music to listen to this short weekend. Factor in the surprise album from our childhood heroes Brand New and the following list, there truly isn’t enough time to enjoy all the musical treasures of the week.

Here’s the best new indie tracks of the week:


Alvvays – “Plimsoll Punks”

The release of Alvvays’ highly-anticipated sophomore record Antisocialites is just a few weeks away, and Molly Rankin and Co. have shared a third single ahead of the September 8 street date.


Chad VanGaalen – “Mind Hijacker’s Curse”

Following “Pine and Clover” and “Old Heads”, Chad VanGaalen shared a third single from his upcoming album Light Information, called “Mind Hijacker’s Curse.” Check it out above before the album drops September 8th.


Weezer – “Mexican Fender”

Weezer have announced that they will return with a follow up to the White Album later this year. The new album will be called Pacific Daydream and will release on October 27 via Crush Music/Atlantic Records.


The Elwins – “Hey! Ya, You”

Following “American Dream” and “Call the Police”, LCD Soundsystem shared “tonite” this week, the latest from the band’s upcoming album American Dream. Both the song and music video have a vintage, 80s funk feel, check it out above.

Emily Haines – “Statuette”

Metric’s Emily Haines released a new single and video this week, “Statuette.” The song is off her forthcoming solo album Choir of the Mind, which is her first in nearly a decade, and due out September 15.


The War On Drugs – “Up All Night”

The War On Drugs have shared their fifth single from their upcoming album A Deeper Understanding this week. The new album comes out next Friday, but in the meantime, listen to “Up All Night” below.


The Beaches – “Money”

The Beaches left off in 2016 with the infectiously catchy “Give It Up” and news of a new album in the works. Finally, after nearly 10 months of waiting, their new single “Money” is here along with a music video. Check it out above.

Terra Lightfoot – “Paradise”

Canadian singer-songwriter Terra Lightfoot has announced her new album, New Mistakes, due to be released October 13. With the announcement of a new album on the way, Lightfoot shared a fun new single, “Paradise.”



Death From Above – “Never Swim Alone”

Death From Above have announced their third full-length album Outrage! Is Now, set to be released September 8 via Last Gang Records/eOne. In addition to unveiling plans for the new record, they’ve also shared a video for “Never Swim Alone,” directed by singer/drummer Sebastien Grainger.


Julien Baker – “Appointments”

Almost exactly two years after the release of her debut album Sprained Ankle, Julien Baker will release her second record Turn Out The Lights on October 27th 2017. Listen to her new track, “Appointments” below.

Most Popular