HomeNew ReleasesBest New IndieBest New Indie: 7 Songs You Need To Discover This Week

Best New Indie: 7 Songs You Need To Discover This Week

As we sit and watch the weather try to make up its mind about what season it would rather be right now, it’s a good opportunity to sit indoors, blast some music, and wait for the whole thing to blow over.

There were lots of great additions this week, including some great new records from Mt. Joy (self-titled), Moby (Everything Was Beautiful, And Nothing Hurt), Superorganism (self-titled) and Sorority Noise’s You’re Not As _____ As You Think acoustic reworking. For your viewing pleasure, don’t miss J Roddy Walston and the Business’s uplifting Collective Arts Black Box Session here.

Here are the songs you can’t miss this week.

CHVRCHES – “My Enemy” ft. Matt Berninger

Scottish electronic trio CHVRCHES announced their forthcoming album Love Is Dead this week, sharing a “My Enemy” featuring vocals form The National’s Matt Berninger. The new album is expected out March 25th via Glassnote.

Jack White – “Over And Over And Over”

Jack White cranked up his fuzz pedals to 11 on his latest track “Over and Over and Over,” the latest from his upcoming album Boarding House Reach. “Over And Over And Over” follows “Connected By Love” and “Corporation”.

Jo Passed – “MDM”

Three years after their Joseph Hirabayashi’s embarkment as solo artist Jo Passed, the artist unvelied plans for their debut record, signing to Sub Pop records. Check out their latest single “MDM” above.


The Voidz – “All Wordz Are Made Up”

Julian Casablancas’s group The Voidz have been dropping new singles pretty consistenly over the last couple weeks. Their latest, “All Wordz Are Made Up” sounds like a computer simulator tried to combine The Strokes with U2.

Albert Hammond Jr. – “Set To Attack”

It may not be a new Strokes album, but considering two of the band’s founding members dropped new material this week, we can’t really complain. While The Voidz material is a bit of a departure from their formative band, Albert Hammond Jr.’s new material is uncanny in it’s similarities. Listen to “Set To Attack” above.


Mounties – “Burning Money”

One of Canada’s most celebrated indie-rock supergroups, Mounties, consisting of Hawksley Workman, Steve Bays of Hot Hot Heat and Ryan Dahle of Limblifter made a triumphant return this week, sharing their first new material in four years. Listen to the fiery new single “Burning Money” above.

Everything Everything – “Breadwinner”

One of the most criminally under-appreciated bands out there (in my personal opinion), UK group Everything Everything dropped a pair of new tracks this week in the short and sweet EP A Deeper Sea. “Breadwinner” is a dazzling, electrifying pop song that demands to be replayed over and over.

Most Popular