Best New Indie: 8 Songs You Need To Discover This Week

Required Weekly Listening from Charlotte Day Wilson, The Voidz and more

Congratulations, you’ve survived another week in the simulation! It’s been another hellish couple of days in the news, so let’s avoid that whole topic since you’re here for new music.

But before we get into it, be sure to check out Chad VanGaalen’s intimate Collective Arts Black Box Session. The multi-instrumentalist kept it interesting with his performance of “Burning Candle” and “Static Shape, both we’d highly reccomend checking out. If you’re like us and need a long nap before getting into the weekend, check out our list of great songs to put you to sleep.

Bleach out your ears with these fresh new indie tracks from this week:

James Blake – “If The Car Beside You Moves Ahead”

There’s no official word from the man himself, but rumours have been flying around about a new James Blake album coming this year. “If The Car Beside You Moves Ahead” is the latest release from the English electronic artist, following his Don McLean cover of “Vincent” a few weeks back.


Charlotte Day Wilson – “Nothing New”

This week Charlotte Day Wilson released “Nothing New” the second track from her highly-anticipated sophomore EP, Stone Woman.


Jack White – “Corporation”

Jack White made headlines this week when he announced all phones would be banned at his upcoming concerts. To his fans’ delight, the prolific artist shared a third new track from Boarding House Reach, the funky “Corporation”.

Alice Glass – “CEASE AND DESIST”

Former Crystal Castles singer Alice Glass released a song Tuesday she describes as a “call to arms for all survivors.” “CEASE AND DESIST” she says “is what I need to tell myself to get through each day, and what I hope other survivors can remember when they feel like they can’t make it through the darkness of their own recovery.”


Unknown Mortal Orchestra – “American Guilt”

New Zealand psych rock group Unknown Mortal Orchestra marked their return this week with the announcement of a North American tour. The announcement was paired with a new track, “American Guilt”. Take a listen above.

Hop Along – “How Simple”

It’s been three years since Philadelphia-based indie-folk outfit Hop Along released their much celebrated record Painted Shut. After a week of teasing fans with a series of cryptic postcard images via social media, Hop Along have confirmed that follow-up is on the way and they’ve shared a fantastic new single, “How Simple.”

Scenic Route to Alaska – “How it Feels”

The Scenic Route To Alaska must be huge WWE fans. Their latest video for “How It Feels” takes a page out of GLOW as the band trains to become amateur wrestlers.



Strokes frontman shared not one but two new tracks with his rebranded side project, The Voidz this week. “QYURRYUS” folows “Leave It In My Dreams” and harkens back to The Strokes’ earlier sound that fans came to know and love.