HomeNew ReleasesBest New IndieBest New Indie: 8 Songs You Need To Hear This Week

Best New Indie: 8 Songs You Need To Hear This Week

As we creep up to the releases of some truly promising records, we were treated to a number of tunes from out longtime favourite artists as well as some new ones.

An honourable mention goes out to Lorde for dropping what will be one of this summer’s hits, “Green Light” this week too. Take a listen to this week’s best new indie:

The Shins – “Painting a Hole”

The Shins have shared a fourth and most-likely final track from their upcoming record Heartworms. It’s fuzzy, upbeat pop-fused tune; closer to something that we’d expect from a Broken Bells record, but with a little less reliance on the use purely of synths. Check out “Painting a Hole” above.

Passion Pit – “To the Otherside”

Michael Angelakos has been quietly dropping new songs all over the place from his upcoming record, and from what we’ve heard so far has found a fruitful creative geyser. We don’t want to jump the gun, but this group of work might be his best work yet.


Portugal. The Man – “Feel It Still”

American rock group Portugal shared a dancey new tune today, following up “Noise Pollution” from earlier this year. There’s no word exactly on when their next album is due out, but the band is heading out on an extensive North American tour this Spring. Check out “Feel It Still” above.

Billy Moon – “IWK”

Billy Moon is hard at work producing the follow-up to last year’s That Which You Can’t Throw Away EP, with his second body of work that will include this latest track. Billy Moon wrote “IWK” with Young Rival’s Aron D’Alesio producing and mixing the song.

She-Devils – “The World Laughs”

Montreal duo She-Devils dropped a tasty new video for their beachy-pop track “The World Laughs”, to celebrate the announcement of signing to Secretly Canadian.

WAVVES – “You’re Welcome”

Wavves announced a new record is underway titled You’re Welcome, the first new collection of song’s since 2015 V. Nathan Williams dropped two new songs, “Daisy” and the title track from the forthcoming record. Take a listen to the former above.

Peter Bjorn and John – “Stuck”


Sweden’s Peter Bjorn and John shared “Stuck”, one of eight bonus tracks from the Deluxe edition of their 2016 album Breakin’ Point, released today.

Odd Years – “The Way That You Were”

Most Popular