HomeNew ReleasesBest New IndieBest New Indie: 14 Songs You Need To Discover This Week

Best New Indie: 14 Songs You Need To Discover This Week

Lots of reasons to be excited for the new year! In addition to the string of major music festivals announcing their lineups this week, a ton of great artists announced upcoming albums and shared new tracks.

Here are our favourites:


Born Ruffians – “Miss You”

Born Ruffians have shared a new single, “Miss You,” from their forthcoming studio record this week. Uncle, Duke & The Chief arrives on February 16 via Paper Bag Records.


Young Galaxy – “Under My Wing”

Montreal’s electro-pop duo Young Galaxy have announced the upcoming release of their first fully independent, “punk spirit” album, Down Time. The band shared a swirling new single, “Under My Wing,” to mark the announcement.

Sylvan Esso – “PARAD(w/m)E”

Dance-pop duo Sylvan Esso shared their first new single since their excellent 2017 LP What Now, “PARAD(w/m)E”. Listen above!

First Aid Kit – “Ruins”

Swedish folk duo made of sisters Klara and Johanna Söderberg shared the title track from their upcoming albums Ruins today. “Ruins” follows “Fireworks,” “Postcard” from the forthcoming album due out next Friday.

Jade Bird – “Lottery”

Emerging country-folk artist Jade Bird made debuted her new single, “Lottery,” today. Be sure to stay tuned for her Collective Arts Brewing Black Box Session, coming later this month.


RHYE – “Song For You”

Polaris-Prize nominated artist RHYE have been teasing their upcoming sophomore effort Blood. The alternative R&B duo previously shared “Taste” and “Please,” the first new tracks since 2013’s Woman.

Jack White – “Connected By Love”

The much anticipated return of Jack White came this week with not one but two new songs. Listen to the soulful “Connected By Love” above, and “Respect Commander” here. The new album Boarding House Reach is due out March 23rd.

Vance Joy – “We’re Going Home”

Vance Joy announced the release date of his upcoming album Nation of Two this week with a brand new single, “We’re Going Home.” Take a listen before the full album drops February 23rd.

Nathaniel Rateliff – “You Worry Me”

Nathaniel Rateliff and The Night Sweats became somewhat of a household name overnight for their infectious single “S.O.B.” back in 2015. Now the soulful R&B group are preparing to make an even bigger splash with their next album Tearing At The Seams. Listen to the first new track, “You Worry Me” above.

Matt and Kim – “Forever”

Matt and Kim dropped an anthemic new single today, titled “Forever”. The duo also announced that work on their sixth album is underway, coming later this spring. The band haven’t released a new album in three years, taking one year off after Kim Schifino tore her ACL on stage in Mexico.

TUNE-YARDS – “Heart Attack”

Tune-Yards released this hypnotizing video for “Heart Attack” that from their forthcoming album, I Can Feel You Creep Into My Private Life, due out January 19th via 4AD.


U.S. Girls – “Pearly Gates” ft. James Baley

Meg Remy of U.S. girls enlisted the help of James Bailey for her new track from In a Poem Unlimited, due for release on 16th February.

BØRNS – “Blue Madonna” Ft. Lana Del Rey

BØRNS and Lana Del Rey have teamed up for a second track, “Blue Madonna,” from BØRNS’ upcoming eponymously named album. The pair recently joined forces “God Save Our Young Blood.”

TUNS – “When You’re Ready”

Canadian rock supergroup, formed of members The Inbreds, Sloan, and The Super Friendz shared a new single “When You’re Read” this week, following their self-titled debut record back in 2016.

Most Popular