HomeMusicBreeze shares video for new post-punk disco anthem 'Hard Boiled Wonderland'

Breeze shares video for new post-punk disco anthem ‘Hard Boiled Wonderland’

Toronto producer and artist Josh Korody has shared a video for his new track as Breeze, “Hard Boiled Wonderland.”

The post-punk disco anthem sees Breeze channeling the sounds of Chemical Brothers, The Orb, and Primal Scream’s Screamadelica. “Hard Boiled Wonderland” comes from Breeze’s forthcoming album, Only Up, out on August 26th via Hand Drawn Dracula. With fuzzy synths and a glitchy beat, this track is sure to get you up and dancing. The accompanying animated video is full of colourful, flashing graphics.

“‘Hard Boiled Wonderland’ is an important track to me because it was the first song on the album I put vocals down for,” Korody explains. “I essentially found my ‘new voice’ which ends up dominating the record. I really love the energy of this track so much. Lyrically it’s the only song that isn’t about anything specific. It’s a complete stream of consciousness style of writing as a result of the early stages of the pandemic and feeling extremely existential which ends up making the song quite nihilistic while still anthemic.”

Watch the video for “Hard Boiled Wonderland” below.

Only Up serves as the follow-up to his recently released Parallel World. The album draws on influences from British bands like the Happy Mondays, Charlatans, and Primal Scream. In fact, Korody put the album together in just two weeks.

It features Breeze’s previously released collaboration with Cadence Weapon, “Come Around.” “Come Around” sees Breeze’s Josh Korody channeling a sort of swampy acid house sound. The new Breeze track features guest vocals from the Toronto-based rapper. Weapon’s captivating vocals truly transform the gritty anthemic tune. Ultimately, Korody blends his sound with Weapon’s perfectly.

Pre-order Only Up here and revisit its tracklist below.

Only Up Tracklist:

01 – “Intro”
02 – “Come Around (feat. Cadence Weapon)”
03 – “Let In In”
04 – “Ecstasy On Keele Street”
05 – “Hard-Boiled Wonderland”
06 – “Our Scene”
07 – “Bummer”
08 – “Release The Pain”
09 – “Don’t Cry”
10 – “Only Up (feat. Tess Parks)”

Breeze recently took part in our recurring Live From Home series. Korody and co. performed his Only Up track “Ecstasy On Keele Street.” Check it out here!

Most Popular