HomeNew ReleasesAlbum StreamsCalgary shoegazers Crystal Eyes share genre-bending album 'The Sweetness Restored'

Calgary shoegazers Crystal Eyes share genre-bending album ‘The Sweetness Restored’

Calgary shoegaze outfit Crystal Eyes have returned with their sophomore album, The Sweetness Restored.

The wistful collection strikes the perfect balance between new wave, 60’s psych-rock, and 90’s shoegaze. Across its 10 tracks, the album is inspired partially by the streets of Montreal and partially by “the mountains, forests and lakes of nature at its most free,” according to a release.

The Sweetness Restored is a collection of ten tunes that weave in and out of genres with ease. From new wave to psych-rock to shoegaze, this album’s got a little bit of everything. Ultimately, the record is a “feel-good self-help record for the age of existential dread,” the band explains.

Stream the album and check out its tracklist below.


The Sweetness Restored Tracklist:

01 – “Wishes”
02 – “Like a Movie”
03 – “Don’t Turn Around”
04 – “I Still Believe in Love pt. 1”
05 – “I Still Believe in Love pt. 2”
06 – “2,000 Years”
07 – “For Carole”
08 – “Pretty Dumb”
09 – “A Dream I Had”
10 – “No Heaven”
Recorded at Montreal’s Breakglass Studios, the album channels a unique sounds, using a theravox, the Hammond C3 with Leslie speakers, a string quartet, a choir, an out-of-tune piano, analogue synths, and plenty of guitars. Produced and engineered by Andrew Woods, Crystal Eyes’ new record channels a playful, experimental sound, while still packing thoughtful, emotive melodies throughout.

The Sweetness Restored features previously released singles “Wishes,” “Don’t Turn Around,” and “Like A Movie.”

Most of the record took place across 10 days in Montreal, shortly before the world shut down in the spring of 2020.

“That was such a creatively fulfilling time and one of the most truly exceptional artistic experiences I have had,” vocalist and guitarist Erin Jenkins says. “There was a lot of laughter, some moments of sheer exhaustion, and so much artistic generosity and spirit poured into every ounce of the recording. When you listen, imagine us giggling and dancing in the studio as we gleefully recall our musical heroes. This album represents everything I have learnt (so far) about the meaning of life and music.”

Most Popular