HomeMusicCaribou's Dan Snaith shares new single as Daphni 'Mania'

Caribou’s Dan Snaith shares new single as Daphni ‘Mania’

Caribou’s Dan Snaith is back with a new single as Daphni called “Mania.”

The track comes from his forthcoming album, Cherry, out October 7th via Jiaolong. “Mania” is a driven house jam, with pulsing, gritty electronics. Throughout the song, Daphni offers up some propulsive techno melodies and gurgling synths. With funky sensibilities and dance-worthy instrumentals, the track is definitely a must-listen.

Daphni has also shared a video for “Mania,” which follows a man with a poodle head jumping on a trampoline as emojis flash across his face.

Listen to “Mania” below.

Cherry marks Daphni’s first new album since 2017. On Cherry, Snaith is ready to let the music find its own way, whether it comes to the studio or the club.

“There isn’t anything obvious that unifies it or makes it hang together,” Snaith explains of the album. “I think it was good that it was made without worrying about any of that. I just made it.”

The record was recorded over a prolonged period of time, as Snaith let the music take him wherever it wanted to go.

“It’s weird that when the tracks were put in what felt like the right order it took on a new coherence,” Snaith says. “Where it pings quickly from one idea to the next and, at least for me, hangs together in a way that feels unified. Maybe because it’s hard to avoid the musical fingerprints I leave on the music I make, whether I want to or not.”

In addition to “Mania,” Cherry features the previously released “Cloudy,” “Clavicle,” and the title track.

Pre-order Cherry here or check out the tracklist below.

Cherry Tracklist:

01 – “Arrow”
02 – “Cherry”
03 – “Always There”
04 – “Crimson”
05 – “Arp Blocks”
06 – “Falling”
07 – “Mania”
08 – “Take Two”
09 – “Mona”
10 – “Clavicle”
11 – “Cloudy”
12 – “Karplus”
13 – “Amber”
14 – “Fly Away”

Most Popular