HomeMusicCat Power announces third covers album, shares rendition of Frank Ocean and...

Cat Power announces third covers album, shares rendition of Frank Ocean and the Pogues tracks

Cat Power has announced her third covers album, aptly titled Covers. As part of the announcement, she’s shared her own renditions of Frank Ocean’s “Bad Religion” and The Pogues’ “A Pair of Brown Eyes.”

Covers is set for release on January 14th via Domino Records. The forthcoming album sees Cat Power covering tracks by Nick Cave, Iggy Pop, Billie Holiday, and more. It also boasts a new version of her own 2006 The Greatest track, “Hate,” retitled “Unhate.” Today’s previews truly set the tone for the album. On her cover of “Bad Religion,” Power takes the R&B hit and turns it into a dreamy, ethereal rocker. In a statement, she explains that her cover began when she was having a hard time performing her own track, “In Your Face,” on tour.

“That song was bringing me down,” Power says. “So I started pulling out lyrics from ‘Bad Religion’ and singing those instead of getting super depressed. Performing covers is a very enjoyable way to do something that feels natural to me when it comes to making music.”

Listen to Cat Power’s cover of “Bad Religion” below.

Cat Power adds her own twist to The Pogues’ “A Pair of Brown Eyes” as well. It revolves around atmospheric instrumentals and layered vocal lines.

Listen to Cat Power’s cover of “A Pair of Brown Eyes” below.

Covers serves as the follow-up to 2018’s Wanderer. In the past, she’s released two other covers albums: 2008’s Jukebox and 2000’s The Covers Record.

Check out the tracklist for Covers below.

Covers Tracklist:

01 – “Bad Religion” – Frank Ocean
02 – “Unhate” – Cat Power/Chan Marshall
03 – “Pa Pa Power” – Dead Man’s Bones
04 – “A Pair Of Brown Eyes” – The Pogues
05 – “Against the Wind” – Bob Seger
06 – “Endless Sea” – Iggy Pop
07 – “These Days” – Jackson Browne
08 – “It Wasn’t God Who Made Honky Tonk Angels” – Kitty Wells
09 – “I Had A Dream Joe” – Nick Cave
10 – “Here Comes A Regular” – The Replacements
11 – “I’ll Be Seeing You” – Billie Holiday

[Read More] Depeche Mode’s Dave Gahan and Soulsavers reinterpret Neil Young, Cat Power, Bob Dylan, more on new album ‘Imposter’
Watch: Cat Power Shares Cover of Rihanna’s ‘Stay’
Watch: The National Cover Cat Power, Pay Tribute To Scott Hutchison

Lead photo courtesy of Mario Sorrenti.

Most Popular