HomeMusicCat Power performs in a cabaret hall in video for cover of...

Cat Power performs in a cabaret hall in video for cover of Billie Holiday’s ‘I’ll Be Seeing You’

Cat Power has shared a video for her new cover of Billie Holiday’s “I’ll Be Seeing You.”

The track comes from Cat Power’s forthcoming album, Covers, out January 14th via Domino. Chan Marshall’s raspy vocals give the 1944 classic a new edge. She takes the smoky horns of the original tune and replaces it with some intimate finger-picked guitar lines. Alongside the track, Marshall shared a video, which sees her performing in a cabaret hall in a suit and hat.

“When people who love you have been taken from you, there’s always a song that holds their memory in your mind,” Marshall explains. “It’s a conversation with those on the other side, and it’s really important for me to reach out to people that way.”

Watch the video for Cat Power’s cover of Billie Holiday’s “I’ll Be Seeing You” below.

Alongside the “I’ll Be Seeing You” cover, Marshall has shared an updated version of her song “Hate” called “Unhate.” Check out that track below.

Covers sees Cat Power covering tracks by Nick Cave, Iggy Pop, The Replacements, and more.

Alongside “I’ll Be Seeing You,” Cat Power has already shared covers of Frank Ocean’s “Bad Religion,” The Pogues’ “A Pair of Brown Eyes,” and Dead Man’s Bones’ “Pa Pa Power.”

Check out the tracklist for Covers below.

Covers Tracklist:

01 – “Bad Religion” – Frank Ocean
02 – “Unhate” – Cat Power/Chan Marshall
03 – “Pa Pa Power” – Dead Man’s Bones
04 – “A Pair Of Brown Eyes” – The Pogues
05 – “Against the Wind” – Bob Seger
06 – “Endless Sea” – Iggy Pop
07 – “These Days” – Jackson Browne
08 – “It Wasn’t God Who Made Honky Tonk Angels” – Kitty Wells
09 – “I Had A Dream Joe” – Nick Cave
10 – “Here Comes A Regular” – The Replacements
11 – “I’ll Be Seeing You” – Billie Holiday

Most Popular