Charlotte Cardin, Arkells, Said The Whale, more among the top 20 nominees for the 2019 Prism Prize

Among the nominees are Bahamas, Rich Aucoin, Belle Game, more

The Prism Prize has announced the Top 20 best Canadian music videos of the year, which was voted on by a jury of over 120 Canadian music, film, and media arts professionals.

After watching hundreds of music videos, the videos were selected based on different qualifiers like originality, creativity, style, innovation, and effective execution. Among the outstanding list of nominees are the Arkells, Bahamas, Charlotte Cardin, Rich Aucoin, Said The Whale, and more. The top 10 nominees will be announced on April 2nd, 2019, and one of these videos will be awards a grand prize of $15,000 at a screening on Monday, May 13th, 2019 at TIFF Bell Lightbox.

Watch the trailer for the 2019 Prism Prize and check out the full list of nominees below.

2019 Prism Prize Top 20 from Prism Prize on Vimeo.

2019 Prism Prize Top 20:

Arkells – “People’s Champ” (Director: Matt Barnes)
Bahamas – “No Depression” (Director: Ali J. Eisner)
Belle Game – “Low” (Director: Kevan Funk)
Blue Hawaii – “Do You Need Me” (Director: Kevan Funk)
Cadence Weapon – “High Rise” (Director: Lester Millado)
Chad VanGaalen – “Host Body” (Director: Chad VanGaalen)
Charlotte Cardin – “The Kids” (Director: Kristof Brandl)
Clairmont The Second – “Gheeze” (Director: Clairmont The Second)
Classified – “Powerless” (Director: Andrew Hines)
Daniel Caesar ft. H.E.R. – “Best Part, a Visual” (Directors: Keavan Yazdani & Sean Brown)
Deadmau5 – “Monophobia” (Directors: Nick DenBoer & Kenny Hotz)
Drake – “Nice For What” (Director: Karena Evans)
Harrison ft. Ralph – “Your Girl” (Directors: Ft. Langley)
Jean-Michael Blais – “Dans ma main” (Directors: Mauriès Matos)
Jessie Reyes – “Body Count” (Director: Peter Huang)
Rich Aucoin – “The Middle” (Director: Meags Fitzgerald)
Said The Whale – “UnAmerican” (Director: Johnny Jansen)
So Loki – “Athletes World” (Director: Lucas Hrubizna)
SonReal – “Have A Nice Day” (Director: Peter Huang)
The Weather Station – “Impossible” (Director: Colin Medley)
You can vote for the Audience Award here all the way until April 19th, 2019.