HomeMusicCharlotte Cardin, The Weather Station, Zoon, more make 2021 Polaris Prize Long...

Charlotte Cardin, The Weather Station, Zoon, more make 2021 Polaris Prize Long List

The Polaris Music Prize, which is awarded to the best Canadian album based on artistic merit, has just released their Long List, and it features renowned artists like Charlotte Cardin, The Weather Station, Yves Jarvis, and more.

The Polaris Music Prize awards $50,000 to the artist who creates the Canadian Album of the Year, judged solely on artistic merit, without consideration for genre or record sales. Additionally, the nine other nominated acts whose albums make the 2020 Short List, which will be revealed on July 15th, will receive $3,000 each courtesy of Slaight Music.

Previous Polaris Prize winners include Backxwash, Haviah Mighty, Arcade Fire, Tanya Tagaq, Kaytranada, Godspeed You! Black Emeror, Fucked Up, Feist, Buffy Sainte-Marie, Lido Pimienta, Caribou, and more.

Check out the 2021 Polaris Music Prize long list below.

Polaris Music Prize 2021 Long List:

Art Bergmann – Late Stage Empire Dementia
Bernice – Eau De Bonjourno
The Besnard Lakes – The Besnard Lakes Are the Last of the Great Thunderstorm Warnings
Leanne Betasamosake Simpson – Theory of Ice
Cadence Weapon – Parallel World
Charlotte Cardin – Phoenix
CFCF – memoryland
Clairmont the Second – IT’S NOT HOW IT SOUNDS
Helena Deland – Someone New
DijahSB – Head Above The Waters
Kathleen Edwards – Total Freedom
Dominique Fils-Aime? – Three Little Words
Fiver with the Atlantic School of Spontaneous Composition – Fiver with the Atlantic School of Spontaneous Composition
Thanya Iyer – KIND
Yves Jarvis – Sundry Rock Song Stock
Rochelle Jordan – Play With the Changes
LAL – Meteors Could Come Down
Daniel Lanois – Heavy Sun
Thierry Larose – Cantalou
Russell Louder – Humor
Elliot Maginot – Easy Morning
Mustafa – When Smoke Rises
Laura Niquay – Waska Matisiwin
Nyssa – Girls Like Me
The OBGMs – The Ends
Dorothea Paas – Anything Can’t Happen
Klo? Pelgag – Notre-Dame-des-Sept-Douleurs
Savannah Re? – Opia
Allison Russell – Outside Child
Julien Sagot – Sagot
Sargeant X Comrade – Magic Radio
Shabason, Krgovich & Harris – Philadelphia
Yu Su – Yellow River Blue
Julian Taylor – The Ridge
TEKE::TEKE – Shirushi
TOBi – Elements Vol. 1
Vagina Witchcraft – Vagina Witchcraft
The Weather Station – Ignorance
Zoon – Bleached Wavves

[Read More] Backxwash celebrates Halloween with eerie new song ‘Rosemary’s Revenge’

Most Popular