HomeMusicChristian Lee Hutson shares video for 'Rubberneckers,' announces Phoebe Bridgers and Conor...

Christian Lee Hutson shares video for ‘Rubberneckers,’ announces Phoebe Bridgers and Conor Oberst-produced album

Los Angeles artist Christian Lee Hutson has announced his sophomore album, Quitters, out April 1st via ANTI-. In celebration of the announcement, he’s previewed the record with a video for “Rubberneckers.”

Produced by Phoebe Bridgers and Conor Oberst, Quitters is inspired by Johnn Prine, Bob Mehr’s book about the Replacements Trouble Boys, and Scott McClanahan’s The Sarah Book. Today’s preview, “Rubberneckers,” features backing vocals from Bridgers. The accompanying video, which was directed by Zoe Donahoe and Adum Sputh, features clips of Christian Lee Hutson playing games with the camera.

“I made the ‘Rubberneckers’ video with my friends Zoe and Adam, who I worked with on the ‘Lose This Number’ video,” Christian Lee Hutson says. “The last time I danced was at the 8th grade social and it was mainly just swaying to ‘I Don’t Wanna Miss a Thing’ but I wanted to showcase what a natural, gifted dancer I am.”

Watch the video for “Rubberneckers” below.

Quitters is all about Hutson’s hometown. Lyrically, the 13 tracks are like short stories. On the album, Christian Lee Hutson sings of the transition into adulthood, losing your childhood home, but the door is always left open.

Unlike on his debut, Quitters, Hutson is moving away from digital recording.

“When we made Beginners the aim was to make simple digital recordings of how I would play the songs in the room,” Christian Lee Hutson explains. “With this record, Phoebe and Conor had an idea that it would be fun to make it to tape. Phoebe is my best friend and making Beginners with her was so comfortable and easy. So I wanted to work with her again.”

Pre-order Quitters here and check out the tracklist below.

Quitters Tracklist:

01 – “Strawberry Lemonade”
02 – “Endangered Birds”
03 – “Rubberneckers”
04 – “Sitting Up With A Sick Friend”
05 – “Age Difference”
06 – “Blank Check”
07 – “Cherry”
08 – “State Bird”
09 – “Teddy’s Song”
10 – “Black Cat”
11 – “Creature Feature”
12 – “OCDemon”
13 – “Triple Axel”

[Read More] Stream: Phoebe Bridgers and Conor Oberst drop surprise album as Better Oblivion Community Center
Watch: Phoebe Bridgers and Conor Oberst’s Better Oblivion Community Center covers ‘Shallow’ from ‘A Star Is Born’

Most Popular