HomeMusicColdplay share new 10 minute single 'Coloratura'

Coldplay share new 10 minute single ‘Coloratura’

Coldplay have dropped a lengthy 10-minute single called “Coloratura.”

The track comes from their recently announced album, Music Of The Spheres, out on October 15th. “Coloratura” continues with Coldplay’s galactic journey that began with “Higher Power.” The interstellar track serves as the album’s epic, spacey closer.

Frontman Chris Martin delivers some stadium-style vocals on this track, dropping names like Galileo and Betelgeuse. This ambitious new tune really sees Coldplay leaning into an uncharted territory. “Coloratura” also comes accompanied by an out-of-this-world lyric video.

Listen to “Coloratura” below.

Music of The Spheres marks the band’s ninth studio album and the follow-up to 2019’s Everyday Life. The 12-track collection was produced by pop maestro Max Martin. Earlier this week, Coldplay took to Instagram to announce the record in a handwritten note.

Coldplay will share a third single sometime in September, prior to the album’s release. It seems like the record will follow the same sci-fi themes as the lyrics in “Higher Power,” as the announcement featured the phrase, “Everyone is an alien somewhere.” According to the album’s tracklist, five songs are named after (…checks notes…) Emojis?

Check out the tracklist for Music of the Spheres below.

Music of the Spheres Tracklist:

01 – “🪐”
02 – “Higher Power”
03 – “Humankind”
04 – “✨”
05 – “Let Somebody Go”
06 – “❤️”
07 – “People of the Pride”
08 – “Biutyful”
09 – “🌎”
10 – “My Universe”
11 – “♾️”
12 – “Coloratur”

Lead photo courtesy of James Marcus Haney.

Most Popular