HomeMusicCourtney Barnett embarks on an adventure with an old-school tape recorder in...

Courtney Barnett embarks on an adventure with an old-school tape recorder in video for ‘Before You Gotta Go’

Australian indie-rocker Courtney Barnett has shared a new video for her recent single, “Before You Gotta Go.”

The perfectly peculiar clip follows Barnett as she heads out on a nostalgic adventure with a retro tape recorder. In quintessential Courtney Barnett fashion, the video is equal parts playful and strange. Throughout the video, Barnett makes her way through idyllic scenes as she records sounds she finds. Eventually, she even encounters her own giant head in a field of yellow flowers. “Before You Gotta Go” was directed by Claudia Sangiorgi Dalimore.

Dalimore says that making the clip was “an interestingly polarizing experience.” “I love how brilliantly simple Courtney’s idea was, it brought real joy shooting part of it together, just me, her and my DOP with the other part being two long days directing over Zoom across the Tasman Sea. I watch it now and feel that sense of peace, that potent calm you can only get immersed in the beauty of nature.”

Watch the video for “Before You Gotta Go” below.

“Before You Gotta Go” comes from Courtney Barnett’s forthcoming album, Things Take Time, Take Time.

Things Take Time, Take Time marks the follow-up to the Aussie alt-rocker’s 2018 album, Tell Me How You Really Feel. The songs deal “unabashedly with love, renewal, healing and self-discovery,” according to a press release. Written over two years, the album sees Barnett at her most creative and most intimate. Courtney Barnett truly lets the listener into her private world on this album.

Things Take Time, Take Time is out on November 12th via Mom+Pop Records. Check out the tracklist for the album below.

Things Take Time, Take Time Tracklist:

01 – “Rae Street”
02 – “Sunfair Sundown”
03 – “Here’s the Thing”
04 – “Before You Gotta Go”
05 – “Turning Green”
06 – “Take It Day By Day”
07 – “If I Don’t Hear From You Tonight”
08 – “Write a List of Things to Look Forward To”
09 – “Splendour”
10 – “Oh the Night”

[Read More] Courtney Barnett shares video for new track ‘Rae Street,’ announces forthcoming album ‘Things Take Time, Take Time’

Most Popular