HomeMusicMusic NewsDilly Dally, grandson, Bad Child, more among 2019 SOCAN Songwriting Prize Finalists

Dilly Dally, grandson, Bad Child, more among 2019 SOCAN Songwriting Prize Finalists

SOCAN has just revealed the finalists for its 2019 Songwriting Prize, and it features nominees like Dilly Dally, grandson, Bad Child, and more.

The annual award is intended to celebrate Canadian artists’ songwriting abilities, ensuring that the finalists “span a wide range of genres, showcasing the varied musical styles of the nominees, and emblematic of the youthful diversity of Canada itself; pop, rap, alternative indie-rock, and electronic funk songs are vying for the title,” according to a press release.

The winners of the SOCAN Songwriting Prize and the Prix de la chanson SOCAN for Francophone songwriters, which are both voted for by fans, will receive $10,000, a Yamaha PSR-S975 keyboard, and a $500 Long & McQuade gift card.

Check out the full list of nominees below.
SOCAN Songwriting Prize:

“Bad Biology” – written by Elizabeth Ball, Kathleen Monks, Benjamin Reinhartz, James Anthony Rowlinson; performed by Dilly Dally.

“Blood//Water” – written by Chester Krupa Carbone, Kevin Hissink, Jordan Benjamin; performed by grandson; published by B Height Music, SONY ATV Music Publishing Canada.

“Chances” – written by Kevin Celestin, Shanice Mohamed, Anthony Pierre; performed by Kaytranada feat. Shay Lia; published by Casablanca Media Publishing Inc.

“Elephant Man” – written by Sam Lucia, Geoff Millar; performed by SO LOKI; published by Owake Records.

“Hang Ups” – written by Scott Helman, Thomas Salter, Gordie Sampson, Simon Wilcox; performed by Scott Helman; published by EMI April Music Canada, SONY ATV Music Publishing Canada.

“Payback” – written by Sarah Hagen, Maxwell, Pankiw, Isaiah Steinberg; performed by Bad Child.

“She’s The One” – written by Chloé Soldevila, Miles Dupire-Gagnon, Gabriel Lambert, Zachary Irving; performed by Anemone.

“Soundboi” – written by Dominique Dias, John Samuels; performed by Just John + Dom Dias.

“Tortoise” – written by Clairmont Humphrey II; performed by Clairmont the Second.

“Whatever Comes To Mind” – written by Seth Nyquist, Adrian Cook; performed by Mormor.

2019 Prix de la chanson SOCAN:

“Best I’ll Never Have (version française)” – written by Brandon Mignacca, John Nathaniel, Mariane Cossette-Bacon; performed by Brandon Mig; published by John Nathaniel Productions Inc.

“Fille de personne II” – written by Hubert Chiasson; performed by Hubert Lenoir.

“La valse des trottoirs” – written by Tommy Bélisle, Philippe Gauthier Boudreau, Thierry Malépart, Marc-Antoine Barbier, Félix Bélisle; performed by Choses Sauvages; published by Avenue Editorial.

“Manche ouverte” – written by Simon Bolduc; performed by Bolduc tout croche.

“On fouette” – written by Teddy Laguerre, Shawn Volcy, Marc Casseus, Valdimi Methelus; performed by Tizzo.

“Pas né” – written by Obia Magloire Pierre-Louis, Amhed Saghir; performed by Obia le chef; published by Disques 7ième Ciel.

“Premier juin ” – written by Lydia Képinski; performed by Lydia Képinski.

“T’as pas cru” – written by Sarahmée Ouellet, Thomas Lapointe, Diego Montenegro, Ingrid Phd Prifti; performed by Sarahmée.

“Tercel” – written by Vincent Roberge, Félix Petit, Simon Saint Hillier; performed by Les Louanges; published by Éditions Bonsound.

“Zaybae” – written by Léo Fougère, Clément Langlois-Légaré, Tom St-Laurent; performed by FouKi; published by Disques 7ième Ciel.
Lead photo courtesy of Michelle Homonylo.

Most Popular