HomeMusicDream pop outfit Sugarplum Fairies announce 'Altar Songs 1998-2021,' share video for...

Dream pop outfit Sugarplum Fairies announce ‘Altar Songs 1998-2021,’ share video for ‘Sandy Says 2021 (ft. Sid Simons)’

LA-based Viennese dream pop act Sugarplum Fairies have announced their forthcoming collection, Altar Songs 1998-2021, out December 3rd via Starfish Records. To preview the collection, they’ve shared a video for “Sandy Says 2021 (feat. Sid Simons).”

“Sandy Says” is a perfect preview of the album. The dreamy, ethereal new tune serves as a stunning collaboration between Sugarplum Fairies frontwoman Sylvia Ryder and Girl Skin’s Sid Simons.

Altar Songs 1998-2021 serves as a snapshot of Sugarplum Fairies’ growth since they began in 1998. Back then, they were a husband and wife duo. After a personal and creative breakup in 2013, the band became a rotating artistic collective led by Ryder.

Watch the video for “Sandy Says 2021 (ft. Sid Simons)” below.

The new album traces Sugarplum Fairies’ journey, as they weaved in and out of shoegaze and jangly guitar pop. Altar Songs 1998-2021 features collaborations with original Uncle Tupelo/Wilco drummer and producer Ken Coomer, late Mazzy Star drummer Keith Mitchell, and many more.

Alter Songs 1998-2021 features a new song called “Tears.” Sugarplum Fairies also reimagined and rerecorded versions of previously released songs “Heart Hell 2021,” “Sandy Says 2021,” and “Sugarfree 2021.” Keep your eyes peeled for this upcoming transformative record!

Check out the tracklist for Altar Songs 1998-2021 below.

Altar Songs 1998-2021 Tracklist:

01 – “Sugarfree 2021”
02 – “Velcro Girl”
03 – “Heart Hell 2021 (feat. Sid Simons)”
04 – “A Story”
05 – “Tears”
06 – “96 Dreams (feat. Johnny Ruby)”
07 – “Malta Smile 55”
08 – “Sandy Says 2021 (feat. Sid Simons)”
09 – “Touchdown or Fly”
10 – “Dedeaux Fields”
11 – “Fade Away”
12 – “Jaguar Jackson”
13 – “Hold On To Me”
14 – “St. Andrew’s Place”
15 – “Polaroid”

Lead photo courtesy of Dylan Luster.

[Read More] Indie88 Premiere: Montreal synth-pop artist Radiant Baby shares new album ‘Pantomime’
Listen: Clever Girls share gritty new dream pop track ‘Saturn’
Favours share new dreampop anthem ‘Right Back’
Toronto’s Heaven For Real share blistering new dream-pop tune ‘Energy Bar’

Most Popular