HomeNew ReleasesAlbum StreamsDream pop outfit Sugarplum Fairies share re-imagined album 'Altar Songs (1998-2021)'

Dream pop outfit Sugarplum Fairies share re-imagined album ‘Altar Songs (1998-2021)’

LA-based Viennese dream pop outfit Sugarplum Fairies have shared their new album, Altar Songs (1998-2021).

The new record sees the band reimagining their older tunes. It serves as a snapshot of Sugarplum Fairies’ growth since they began in 1998. Back then, they were a husband and wife duo. After a personal and creative breakup in 2013, the band became a rotating artistic collective led by Ryder.

It traces Sugarplum Fairies’ journey, as they weaved in and out of shoegaze and jangly guitar pop. Altar Songs (1998-2021) features collaborations with original Uncle Tupelo/Wilco drummer and producer Ken Coomer, late Mazzy Star drummer Keith Mitchell, and many more.

Stream Altar Songs (1998-2021) and check out the tracklist below.


Altar Songs (1998-2021) Tracklist:

01 – “Sugarfree 2021”
02 – “Velcro Girl”
03 – “Heart Hell 2021 (feat. Sid Simmons)”
04 – “A Story”
05 – “Tears”
06 – “96 Dreams (feat. Johnny Ruby)”
07 – “Malta Smile 55”
08 – “Sandy Says 2021 (feat. Sid Simons)”
09 – “Touchdown or Fly”
10 – “Dedeaux Fields”
11 – “Fade Away”
12 – “Jaguar Jackson”
13 – “Hold On to Me”
14 – “St. Andrew’s Place”
15 – “Polaroid”

Altar Songs (1998-2021) features previously released singles “Sugarfree (2021)” and “Sandy Says 2021 (ft. Sid Simons).” It also features a new song called “Tears.”

On the album, the iconic 90’s dreampop artist channel lush string arrangements, captivating vocals, and rich sonic textures. Throughout the album’s 15 tracks, Sugarplum Fairies weave in and out of genres. They explore everything from folk-noir to jangle pop, all beneath complex arrangements. All of the songs on the album were (re)mastered by Timothy Stollenwerk for Stereophonic Mastering.

[Read More] Toronto shoegaze outfit Tallies return with video for dreamy new single ‘No Dreams of Fayres’
Shoegaze outfit Letting Up Despite Great Faults share upbeat, shimmery new single ‘Corners Pressed’

Most Popular