Five Indigenous Flags Take Up a Permanent Place at City Hall

Traditional Sunrise Ceremony honours National Aboriginal Day

Early this morning City Hall’s annual Sunrise Ceremony took place in honour of National Aboriginal Day. This time around, however, five flags have been raised instead of the usual one.

The five flags that were raised are made to honour The Mississaugas of the New Credit First Nation, Six Nations of the Grand River Territory First Nation, the Huron-Wendat-Wendake First Nation, The Métis Nation of Ontario, and the Inuit.

All five flags will remain as permanent installations at City Hall, as opposed to the traditional single flag being temporarily installed.

The flags were installed at about 5:30 a.m. this morning. The ceremony was hosted by Toronto’s Indigenous community, including City Hall interns that were hired under Toronto’s Aboriginal Employment Strategy. City council members were also in attendance.


A post shared by Tim Maguire (@timfitzmaguire) on





☀️ ceremony #nationalaboriginalday #idlenomore

A post shared by Brian Summers (@summerspictures) on


A post shared by yyzgrrl (@yyzgrrl) on


Feature photo courtesy Mississaugas of the New Credit First Nation via Facebook.