HomeMusicFleet Foxes announce new live album 'A Very Lonely Solstice'

Fleet Foxes announce new live album ‘A Very Lonely Solstice’

Fleet Foxes have announced their new live album, A Very Lonely Solstice.

The 13-track career-spanning collection was recorded during a livestream in December 2020 at Brooklyn’s St. Ann & the Holy Trinity Church. The forthcoming album will be out Friday alongside a filmed recording. That recording is out at 3:00 p.m. followed by a Q&A with Robin Pecknold, hosted by Elia Einhorn, for YouTube Premium subscribers.

A Very Lonely Solstice was originally broadcasted as a livestream ont he winter solstice of 2020, just days after New York declared a state of emergency in response to COVID-19. Frontman Robin Pecknold says the set was “me by myself on the longest night of the year… honouring the loneliness of 2020 with a nylon string and some songs new and old.”

Check out the tracklist for A Very Lonely Solstice and watch the trailer for the filmed recording below.


A Very Lonely Solstice Tracklist:

01 – “Wading In Waist-High Water”
02 – “Sunblind”
03 – “In The Morning”
04 – “Tiger Mountain Peasant Song”
05 – “Maestranza”
06 – “Helplessness Blues”
07 – “Silver Dagger”
08 – “Featherweight”
09 – “A Long Way Past The Past”
10 – “Blue Spotted Tail”
11 – “If You Need To, Keep Time on Me”
12 – “I’m Not My Season”

A Very Lonely Solstice is out this Friday, December 10th. You can pre-order the album on coloured vinyl and CD here.

A lot of the record sees Pecknold performing acoustic arrangements solo. The tracks come from all four of the band’s studio albums. A Very Lonely Solstice features everything from their self-titled track “Tiger Mountain Peasant Song” to tracks from their most recent album, Shore.

[Read More] Listen: Fleet Foxes share acoustic renditions of three tracks from ‘Shore’Watch: Fleet Foxes perform four tracks for NPR’s Tiny Desk (Home) concert
Fleet Foxes release live album ‘A Very Lonely Solstice’
Five things to do this weekend in Toronto

Most Popular