HomeMusicFormer Weaves members share new single as Pink Blob 'Friday Rocker'

Former Weaves members share new single as Pink Blob ‘Friday Rocker’

Ex-Weaves members Morgan Waters and Spencer Cole have shared a new single as Pink Blob, “Friday Rocker.”

The track comes from their forthcoming self-titled debut album, out this Friday, July 1st. On “Friday Rocker,” the genre-bending Pink Blob lean into a pure rock sound. It boasts some gritty guitars and fuzzed out melodies. Throughout the tune, the band’s brooding vocals take the lead, adding to the melancholic rock sound of the single.

“The lyrics started with a Melissa Etheridge reference and unfolded from there, a song about aging but not wanting to grow up,” Waters explains. “A song about finding common ground with my dad who loves smoking weed and turning up the stereo till his eyes water.”

Watch the video for “Friday Rocker” below.

“Pink Blob is the sound of both sides of me fighting for dominance,” Waters adds. “I’ve always felt split in two halves, and this album clashes the hooky and the noisy, the straight and the gay, the joky and the masculine and feminine up against each other with the wild ferocity I tamper down in my day to day ‘I’m so embarrassed to be alive’ Canadian-ness. Death to boring. Death to snobs. Death to genre. Long live Pink Blob!”

Check out the album’s tracklist below.

Pink Blob Tracklist:

01 – “Embarrassed”
02 – “Moolah”
03 – “Waiting For Your Call”
04 – “Offline”
05 – “Momma You Too Hard On Yourself”
06 – “Bibi”
07 – “Friday Rocker”
08 – “Mind”
09 – “Something Good”
10 – “Took A Shit”
11 – “Duct Cleaning Services”
12 – “That’s How I Knew It Was A Dream”

[Read More] Former Weaves singer Jasmyn shares debut solo album ‘In The Wild’
Jasmyn’s new song ‘Cruel Moon’ is about ‘dancing my way through the growing pains’

Most Popular