HomeMusicGirlpool sing of 'trying to love yourself' on new single 'Nothing Gives...

Girlpool sing of ‘trying to love yourself’ on new single ‘Nothing Gives Me Pleasure’

Avery Tucker and Harmony Tividad have shared a video for their new single as Girlpool, “Nothing Gives Me Pleasure.”

The track serves as the final preview of their forthcoming album, Forgiveness, out April 29th via ANTI-. “Nothing Gives Me Pleasure” is a gritty ballad with processed vocals and glitchy melodies. The accompanying video sees Tividad donning prosthetic makeup. Throughout the clip, we see cameos from Jordan Firstman, Bodhi Brooks Porchia, Ali Michael, and more.

“‘Nothing Gives Me Pleasure’ is about trying to love yourself when it feels like no one else will,” Tividad explains. “It was written during a time when I was working so hard to get someone specific to love and recognize me. On the path to doing that, I diluted myself so much that I lost sight of my own needs. This video plays with the lengths we go to to feel loved and how so many faces of intimacy may disguise what love actually looks like to us specifically. I have a history of getting lost in the labyrinth in the struggle for affection. In this video I wanted to interface with my own patterns in the attempt to better see and love myself.”

Watch the video for “Nothing Gives Me Pleasure” below.

“A lot of my songs on this record are about relationship dynamics where I experienced frustration and pain, and struggling to hold a lot of complexity in my emotions” Tucker explains. “Writing Forgiveness helped me fit all those pieces into an acceptance: that my fate pushes me exactly where I need to go.”

In addition to “Nothing Gives Me Pleasure,” Forgiveness features previously released singles “Dragging My Life Into a Dream,” “Lie Love Lullaby,” and “Faultline.”

Check out the tracklist for Forgiveness below.

Forgiveness Tracklist:

01 – “Nothing Gives Me Pleasure”
02 – “Lie Love Lullaby”
03 – “Violet”
04 – “Junkie”
05 – “Dragging My Life Into A Dream”
06 – “Faultine”
07 – “Light Up Later”
08 – “Country Star”
09 – “Butterfly Bulletholes”
10 – “Afterlife”
11 – “See Me Now”
12 – “Love333”

Most Popular