HomeMusicGood Fortune shares retro French-pop single 'Mon Coeur'

Good Fortune shares retro French-pop single ‘Mon Coeur’

Toronto musician and visual artist Kelsey McNulty has shared a video for her new single as Good Fortune, “Mon Coeur.”

The track comes from her upcoming self-titled debut album, out April 21st, 2022. “Mon Coeur” is a retro French-pop single. Throughout the track, McNulty channels the sounds of 1960’s Paris yé-yé atop dreamy melodies and surf-rock guitars. The accompanying video is animated and directed by McNulty. It boasts captivating, dream-like stop motion drawings.

“It is influenced by a style and era of music from the 60s and 70s,” McNulty explains of “Mon Coeur.” “Pop music at that time was recorded live off the floor and captured the energy of a band. I was influenced by French pop music from that era as well, in particular Francoise Hardy and Serge Gainsbourg and especially his rhythm section on L’histoire de Mélodie Nelson which grooves all the way through that record.”

Listen to “Mon Coeur” below.


More about “Mon Coeur”:

McNulty co-wrote the track with guitarist James Taylor (YUKA). Co-produced with Scott McCannel and with support from James Taylor and Jon Hyde, “Mon Coeur” was recorded to analogue tape and then transferred digitally.

“I love the energy of live players captured to tape – when everyone is just figuring out their parts and feeling out the song,” McNulty explains. “I think this approach inevitably adds an energy to the music that the listener feels more than they hear. It gives a different presence to the music. It is a sound I’ve had a chance to explore in a surf band I co-lead called Carlo. We recorded both our albums and all our demos live and to tape. In a way, this project is an extension of that band and it includes some of its members.”

In addition to “Mon Coeur,” Good Fortune features the previously released “Feelin It.”

Check out the tracklist for Good Fortune below.

Good Fortune Tracklist:

01 – “I Know”
02 – “Feelin It”
03 – “Mon Coeur”
04 – “Time Does No Favors”
05 – “Island Of Hope”
06 – “Aire”
07 – “On and On”
08 – “Long Way (Good Fortune)”
09 – “Mémoire”
10 – “The City”
11 – “Fantôme”

[Read More] METZ’s Alex Edkins shares video for sophomore single as Weird Nightmare ‘Lusitania’

Most Popular