HomeMusicMusic NewsGorillaz Announce 'The Now Now', Share New Song 'Humility'

Gorillaz Announce ‘The Now Now’, Share New Song ‘Humility’

Everyone’s favourite (and maybe only) virtual band Gorillaz have officially announced their next studio album, The Now Now.

The new record was teased on their newly-launched website earlier this week, which was confirmed today by a press release. The Now Now is an 11-song album, produced by James Ford and Remi Kabaka with Damon Albarn as primary songwriter and visual collaborator Jamie Hewlett as the animated band’s puppet master.

Whereas the group’s 2017 album Humanz was heavy with collaborators, The Now Now will be primarily focused on the band’s four group members, according to a press release.

The album sessions for The Now Now saw the band largely eschewing guest stars, taking it back to the core creative crew: blue-haired, sweet-natured dreamer 2D on vocals; whip-smart Japanese badass Noodle on guitar; not forgetting Brooklyn-born philosopher and the meat–behind-the-beat Russel Hobbs on drums. And with Murdoc Niccals temporarily indisposed, bass duties on the new album have been taken up by erstwhile Gangreen Gang member Ace.

Gorillaz have also shared the opening track to the new album, “Humility.” The sun-bleached video follows 2D rollerskating around Venice Beach, featuring Jack Black as an excited busker. Listen below before the album drops June 29rd.

The Now Now Tracklist

1. Humility – feat George Benson
2. Tranz
3. Hollywood – feat Snoop Dogg + Jamie Principle
4. Kansas
5. Sorcererz
6. Idaho
7. Lake Zurich
8. Magic City
9. Fire Flies
10. One Percent
11. Souk Eye

Most Popular