HomeMusicGrouper returns with new track 'Unclean Mind,' announces new album 'Shade'

Grouper returns with new track ‘Unclean Mind,’ announces new album ‘Shade’

Oregon artist Liz Harris has announced Shade, her new album as Grouper. While the album isn’t out until October 22nd via Kranky, today she’s previewed it with her new single, “Unclean Mind.”

The forthcoming album marks Grouper’s first new release since 2018’s Grid of Points. Serving as her 11th full-length album under the moniker, the 12-track album marks a stunning return for Harris.

“Unclean Mind” is quite the powerful first new track, with soft, strummed guitars and silky whispers. Harris is somehow able to reach an explosive new sonic territory beneath minimalist, meditative melodies.

Listen to “Unclean Mind” below.

Although Grid of Points was Harris’ last album as Grouper, she did release a Nivhek album a year later.

The new album was reportedly recorded over a whopping 15 years. Harris took to California’s Mount Tamalpais for the recording sessions. More recently, Harris continued to work on the Grouper tunes while recording in Astoria.

Harris says her new album will be full of “respite, and the coast, poetically and literally.”

Check out the tracklist for Shade below.

Shade by Grouper Tracklist:

01 – “Followed the ocean”
02 – “Unclean mind”
03 – “Ode to the blue”
04 – “Pale Interior”
05 – “Disordered Minds”
06 – “The way her hair falls”
07 – “Promise”
08 – “Basement Mix”
09 – “Kelso (Blue sky)”
Lead photo courtesy of Gordon Ashworth.

Most Popular