HomeMusicHot Chip's new single 'Eleanor' is about 'the world smashing into you'

Hot Chip’s new single ‘Eleanor’ is about ‘the world smashing into you’

Hot Chip have shared their new single “Eleanor.”

The track serves as the second single from their upcoming eighth album, Freakout/Release, out August 19th via Domino. “Eleanor” is a groovy bop with dance-worthy instrumentals and smooth vocal lines. With a deep bass groove and pulsing synths, this track is sure to get you moving.

“It’s about the world smashing into you, waves crashing into you, all-encompassing pain, and how you have to walk through it,” Hot Chip’s Alexis Taylor explains. “The verses are about separation when families are divided against their will. It’s about strong friends. It’s about Samuel Beckett giving Andre The Giant lifts to school, and about how Beckett must have learned a lot from Andre’s wisdom.”

Listen to “Eleanor” below.

Freakout/Release serves as the follow-up to 2019’s A Bath Full of Ecstacy. The album features appearances from Cadence Weapon, Lou Hayter, and Soulwax. Recorded at Hot Chip’s Relax & Enjoy Studio, the entire album was inspired by a cover of Beastie Boys’ “Sabotage” that they frequently perform at their live shows.

“The idea of being out of control is always there in dance music, in a positive sense,” Hot Chip member Al Doyle says of the cover’s influence on the record.

“These songs feel like accomplished pop songs, but it was just us making music in a room,” Doyle adds. “Those moments are a testament to how we’ve developed as songwriters and musicians ourselves.”

They created the forthcoming album “in a natural way, without too much discussion or a grand plan,” bandmember Joe Goddard says.

In addition to “Eleanor,” Freakout/Release features the previously released “Down.”

Check out the tracklist for Freakout/Release below.

Freakout/Release Tracklist:

01 – “Down”
02 – “Eleanor”
03 – “Freakout/Release”
04 – “Broken”
05 – “Not Alone”
06 – “Hard to Be Funky (feat. Lou Hayter)”
07 – “Time”
08 – “Miss The Blues”
09 – “The Evil That Men Do (feat. Cadence Weapon)”
10 – “Guilty”
11 – “Out of My Depth”

Goddard goes on to explain that the album’s lyrics were inspired by the pandemic.

“We were living through a period where it was very easy to feel like people were losing control of their lives in different ways. There’s a darkness that runs through a lot of those tracks.”

[Read More] Listen: Hayley Williams shares Hot Chip remix of ‘Dead Horse’

Most Popular