HomeMusicIDLES announce new album 'CRAWLER,' share up-close video for soulful new single...

IDLES announce new album ‘CRAWLER,’ share up-close video for soulful new single ‘The Beachland Ballroom’

Bristol punks IDLES are back with their fourth studio album, CRAWLER, out November 12th via Partisan. Alongside the announcement, they’ve shared a video for their new single, “The Beachland Ballroom.”

The track is named after the iconic venue in Cleveland, Ohio. It channels a different sound for IDLES entirely. With a slower, almost twistedly jazzy instrumental, IDLES explore new sonic territory. Frontman Joe Talbot not only delivers his distinctive growl on the CRAWLER track, but he sings like you’ve never heard him. The accompanying video comes packed with extreme close ups of Talbot sweaty and crying.

“It’s the most important song on the album, really,” Talbot says. “There’s so many bands that go through the small rooms and dream of making it into the big rooms. Being able to write a soul tune like this made me go, fuck – we’re at a place where we’re actually allowed to go to these big rooms and be creative and not just go through the motions and really appreciate what we’ve got. The song is sort of an allegory of feeling lost and getting through it. It’s one that I really love singing.”

Watch the video “The Beachland Ballroom” below.

“I didn’t know Joe could sing like that,” guitarist Mark Bowen adds. “He’s been trying to write ‘Be My Baby’ since the very beginning, but he didn’t want to be the punk guy wearing the Motown clothes. He wanted it to feel natural, and this song is.”

IDLES are also set to head out on a sold-out 23 date North American tour on October 7th. Unfortunately, there are no Canadian stops on the tour.

Check out the tracklist for CRAWLER below.

CRAWLER Tracklist:

01 – “MIT 420 RR”
02 – “The Wheel”
03 – “When the Lights Come On”
04 – “Car Crash”
05 – “The New Sensation”
06 – “Stockholm Syndrome”
07 – “The Beachland Ballroom”
08 – “Crawl!”
09 – “Meds”
10 – “Kelechi”
11 – “Progress”
12 – “Wizz”
13 – “King Snake”
14 – “The End”

[Read More] IDLES frontman Joe Talbot joins Frank Carter and the Rattlesnakes for performance of ‘My Town’
IDLES rip through punk cover of Metallica’s ‘The God That Failed’
IDLES team up with Slowthai for new version of ‘Model Village’ during new hour-long special

Lead photo courtesy of the artist.

Most Popular