HomeMusicIndie88 Premiere: Dream Phases take a journey through the subconscious mind in...

Indie88 Premiere: Dream Phases take a journey through the subconscious mind in video for new single ‘In a Box’

LA psych pop outfit Dream Phases have shared a video for their new single, “In A Box,” premiering now on Indie88.

The track comes from their forthcoming album, New Distractions, out on November 10th via Nomad Eel Records/Lunar Ruins. The reflective new single is a dreamy, psychedelic-tinged anthem. With hazy guitars and silky vocals, “In A Box” is the perfect soundtrack to a sunny day driving down a winding road. The accompanying video sees Dream Phases going about their day, singing in their room and walking through the city.

“‘In A Box’ was the first song written for New Distractions, in fact we played this song on our 2019 European tour,” Dream Phases explain. “The song is about overcoming writers block, and searching for the inspiration to do just that. THe chorus progressively gets more hopeful as the joy of writing something new is felt. The accompanying music video was made by Matthew Lingo and Styles Wolff Baker and visualizes the journey through the sub conscious mind, searching for inspiration.”

Watch the video for “In A Box” below.

On New Distractions, Dream Phases are looking inward as a result of a year in quarantine. The band are truly taking an exciting step into the unknown, exploring a new sound. The album was mostly written and composed during lockdown, with band members making the songs via email and Zoom.

“In the past I would make a fully fleshed out demo recording and then show the guys that,” Dream Phases’ Brandon Graham explains. “With this one I mostly just wrote the skeleton of the song, like the lyrics, vocal, guitar and sometimes keys and then sent that. We talked about structure, rhythm, and other elements that brought the songs to life.”

Check out the tracklist for New Distractions below.

New Distractions Tracklist:

01 – “Begin Again”
02 – “New Distractions”
03 – “Don’t Forget Love”
04 – “Temple of Sin”
05 – “In a Box”
06 – “Color Me Blue”
07 – “Post TV”
08 – “Blink Twice”
09 – “Aphelion Moon”
10 – “Lady and the Moon”
11 – “Shortcuts”
12 – “Fall Awake”

[More Premieres] Indie88 Premiere: Hot Flash Heat Wave take a drive through the city in colourful video for ‘m o t i o n s’
Indie88 Premiere: The Mellons share video for debut single ‘So Much To Say,’ announce new album ‘Introducing… The Mellons!’

Most Popular