HomeMusicIndie88 Premiere: Uma Bloo share 'a salute, in both sound and message'...

Indie88 Premiere: Uma Bloo share ‘a salute, in both sound and message’ on new single ‘Never Know Me’

Molly Madden has shared a video for her new single as Uma Bloo, “Never Know Me,” premiering now on Indie88.

“Never Know Me” comes from their forthcoming album, Don’t Drive Into the Smoke, out on March 23rd, 2022 via Earth Libraries. “Never Know Me” is a captivatingly gloomy tune, with gritty guitars and dreamy, throaty vocals. The accompanying video revolves around Madden, dancing and singing along to the slowly building tune.

“The best way to describe this song? It is a salute, in both sound and message,” bassist and keys player Luke Blanco explains. “Sound, in the marching rhythms and triumphal riffs fanfaring the chorus. Message, in the unyielding, headstrong lyrics and their manifesto of resoluteness, individuality, and self-reliance. All of this comes to a crescendo in the bridge, an almost cacophonous affair not unlike bombs going off or helicopters flying overhead, only to resolve itself in the final movement, a moment of victory. A moment of celebration.”

Watch the video for “Never Know Me” below.

Uma Bloo frontwoman Molly Madden says that the track was inspired by “the intersection of love and lust and the anger of not being fully seen by another.” “I wrote the lyrics to this song very quickly, I was highly activated when I sat to spell out what I was feeling. I was frustrated because I had been trying to make connections around the city but kept getting sexualized before some meaningful of human recognition in one another could be established.”

On “Never Know Me,” Uma Bloo have a message for the listener.

“As long as you’re in touch with the truth of yourself, no one can devalue you. The closer you are to yourself, the more discernment you have for the people you’re dealing with.

Check out the tracklist for Don’t Drive Into the Smoke below.

Don’t Drive Into the Smoke Tracklist:

01 – “Never Know Me”
02 – “Annie”
03 – “Maguerite’s Noels”
04 – “Coming Home”
05 – “Strange Actress”
06 – “Your Pussycat”
07 – “Was I Ever”
08 – “The Actor’s Last Question”
09 – “Don’t Drive Into the Smoke”
10 – “To Be Vast”

[Read More] Indie88 Premiere: Dream Phases take a journey through the subconscious mind in video for new single ‘In a Box’
Indie88 Premiere: J.R.C.G. shares rich, futuristic new single ‘Rainbow’

Most Popular