HomeNew ReleasesAlbum StreamsIndie88 Premiere: Violent Femmes '2 Mics & The Truth'

Indie88 Premiere: Violent Femmes ‘2 Mics & The Truth’

The Violent Femmes will be releasing a remarkable new collection of unprecedented live recordings and Indie88 is proud to have the exclusive premiere of 2 Mics & The Truth: Unplugged & Unhinged in America, a 24-track monster of a record that traces the career of one of America’s most iconic bands.

The album sees Violent Femmes reinventing their own extraordinary catalogue via new live performances, rearranged classics, songs played live for the first time, and random improvisations.

The album was produced by founding member Brian Ritchie, and was recorded over the last year as the band visited public radio stations and music media outlets across the country in support of their acclaimed ninth studio album, We Can Do Anything.

“This is the first time we’ve delivered a full scale recording to the public which captures the sound and spirit of the band the way we play together when we’re working out songs in the hotel or dressing room,” says Ritchie.

“This project refocuses attention upon the repertoire as a whole by stripping songs to their essentials, conveying them without artifice, and removing them from any timeline. It’s the closest we’ve gotten to the essence of Violent Femmes.”

2 Mics & The Truth: Unplugged & Unhinged in America will be available on CD, digital download, and 2 LP vinyl, with the latter edition featuring five additional songs. A complete track listing is below.

1 Blister in the Sun – WXRV
2 I’m Nothing – PASTE
3 It’s Gonna Rain – PASTE
4 Breaking Up – WFUV
5 Traveling Solves Everything – KINK
6 Good For/At Nothing – WFUV
7 Memory – KINK
8 American Music – KINK
9 Gone Daddy Gone/I Just Wanna Make Love To You – WXPN
10 Love Love Love Love Love – KCMP
11 Big Car – WXPN
12 Untrue Love – PASTE
13 I Could Be Anything – WFUV
14 Rejoice and Be Happy – KCMP
15 Add It Up – WFUV
16 No Killing – WYEP
17 You Move Me – WXPN
18 Issues – KCMP
19 Run With It – WFUV
20 Ugly – WXRV
21 Kiss Off – WXRV
22 Jesus Walking on the Water – WFUV
23 Prove My Love – WFUV
24 Country Death Song – WFUV
25 What You Really Mean – WXPN

Most Popular