HomeMusicInterpol share video for new single 'Toni,' announce forthcoming album 'The Other...

Interpol share video for new single ‘Toni,’ announce forthcoming album ‘The Other Side Of Make-Believe’

Interpol have returned with a video for their new single, “Toni.” The track comes on the heels of their freshly announced album, The Other Side of Make-Believe, out July 15th via Matador.

On the album, Interpol are set to explore new sonic territory. Throughout the track, the band explores “the sinister undercurrents of contemporary life,” a press release explains. Today’s preview, “Toni,” serves as the opening track to Interpol’s 7th studio album. Alongside the single, Interpol have shared a one piece of a two-part dance film directed by Van Alpert. In the clip, frontman Paul Banks stands on the sidelines of a pretty epic dance battle. The second chapter is set to follow very soon.

“It was a blast working with Van Alpert on the video for our song ‘Toni,'” Banks explains. “We bonded over shared film inspiration as well as a passion for classic music videos by the likes of Glazer, Cunningham and Jonze. Van, in my opinion, is in the club with these legends; and it’s exciting to watch him build his own enduring body of work.”

Watch the video for “Toni” below.

Interpol began writing The Other Side of Make-Believe remotely throughout 2020 before joining forces again in early 2021 to flesh out new material. On the album, they teamed up with producer Flood and former co-producer Alan Moulder.

“We really extracted the honey out of this situation,” Fogarino explains of collaborating from afar.

“Working alone was raw at first, but has opened up a vivid new chapter for us,” Kessler adds.

You can really hear that new sound on today’s preview, “Toni.”

Check out the tracklist for The Other Side Of Make-Believe below.

The Other Side Of Make-Believe Tracklist:

01 – “Toni”
02 – “Fables”
03 – “Into The Night”
04 – “Mr Credit”
05 – “Something Changed”
06 – “Renegade Hearts”
07 – “Passenger”
08 – “Greenwich”
09 – “Gran Hotel”
10 – “Big Shot City”
11 – “Go Easy (Palermo)”

“We usually write live, but for the first time I’m not shouting over a drum kit,” Banks says. “Daniel and I have a strong enough chemistry that I could picture how my voice would complement the scratch demos he emailed over. Then I could turn the guys down on my laptop, locate these colourful melodies and generally get the message across in an understated fashion.”

[Read More] Interpol collaborate with David Lynch on new NFT series

Most Popular