HomeMusicJake Bugg shares tender new single 'Downtown'

Jake Bugg shares tender new single ‘Downtown’

Nottingham singer-songwriter Jake Bugg has shared his new single “Downtown” from his forthcoming album, Saturday Night, Sunday Morning.

The new Jamie Hartman-produced track follows recently released singles “Kiss Like The Sun,” “All I Need” and “Lost.” “Downtown” revolves around a stunning piano-based instrumental as Bugg delivers tender vocal lines. Lyrically, he sings about promising someone that they will never be left alone.

“Usually, the initial spark of an idea comes from me,” Bugg explains. “And when it doesn’t, it sometimes loses my attention. Because there were a lot of moving parts and chords, it was almost like a puzzle. I never approached a song like that before.”

Listen to “Downtown” below.

Throughout the beautiful track, Jake Bugg delivers lyrics like, “You’ll never be alone/ If you’re out there/ Just hear me call./ And follow me now, follow me now/ Follow me down, follow me downtown.”

Saturday Night, Sunday Morning marks Jake Bugg’s fifth studio album and is out on August 20th via RCA Records. It will serve as the follow-up to 2017’s Hearts That Strain. Bugg named the album after Allan Sillitoe’s seminal novel, which was set in Bugg’s hometown of Nottingham.

Bugg says the forthcoming album is “the most fun he’s ever had making a record.”

Check out the tracklist for Saturday Night, Sunday Morning below.

Saturday Night, Sunday Morning Tracklist:

01 – “All I Need”
02 – “Kiss Like The Sun”
03 – “About Last Night”
04 – “Downtown”
05 – “Rabbit Hole”
06 – “Lost”
07 – “Scene”
08 – “Lonely Hours”
09 – “Maybe It’s Today”
10 – “Screaming”
11 – “Hold Tight”

Most Popular