HomeMusicJane Inc. shares video for pulsing new single 'Contortionists,' announces forthcoming album...

Jane Inc. shares video for pulsing new single ‘Contortionists,’ announces forthcoming album ‘Faster Than I Can Take’

U.S. Girls, Ice Cream, and Darlene Shrugg member Carlyn Bezic is back with a video for a new single as Jane Inc., “Contortionists.” The track comes on the heels of the announcement of her sophomore album, Faster Than I Can Take, out April 22nd via Telephone Explosion Records.

Today’s preview, “Contortionists” is a pulsing tune that sees Bezic’s silky vocals taking the lead atop warping synths. On the track, labelmate Dorothea Paas (U.S. Girls, Badge Epoque Ensemble) offers up some ethereal harmonies. The track appears to channel the sounds of the pandemic in the opening of the tune, with lyrics like, “The laws of time have changed/ months pass in minutes, hours feel like days.” As the song progresses, it moves even deeper than that.

“At first I thought I was making a record about time,” Bezic says, “but I was actually making a record about how, in moments of intense anxiety, you’re living in the past, present and future at the same time. A million moments existing at once, real and imagined.”

Watch the video for “Contortionists” below.

Faster Than I Can Take was entirely written and self-produced by Bezic. On the album, she takes dance-worthy grooves and disco-tinged melodies while lyrically exploring “the permeable boundaries between our interior and exterior worlds.”

You can really hear that genre-bending sound on “Contortionists.”

Pre-order Faster Than I Can Take here or check out the tracklist below.

Faster Than I Can Take Tracklist:

01 – “Contortionists”
02 – “Human Being”
03 – “Picture of the Future”
04 – “Every Rip”
05 – “An Ordinary Thing”
06 – “2120”
07 – “Faster Than I Can Take”
08 – “Dancing With You”
09 – “Pummelled into Sand”

[Read More] Listen: Jane Inc. shares new cinematic-pop track ‘Obliterated’
Watch: U.S. Girls, Ice Cream member Jane Inc. shares new single ‘Steel’

Most Popular