HomeMusicJapanese Breakfast covers Weezer's 'Say It Ain't So'

Japanese Breakfast covers Weezer’s ‘Say It Ain’t So’

Japanese Breakfast has shared a cover of Weezer’s “Say It Ain’t So.”

The cover comes as part of Spotify and Electric Lady Studios’ series of live EPs, Live at Electric Lady. On the EP, Quartet 121 accompanied Japanese Breakfast. In addition to the cover, the EP boasts live renditions of tracks like “Be Sweet,” “Savage Good Boy,” and “Kokomo, IN.”

“I played a very sloppy basement cover of ‘Say It Ain’t So’ once with my band in college, so it was fun to revisit it from the opposite angle, stripped down with a string quartet,” Japanese Breakfast explains. “Craig Hendrix did the arrangement and Quartet 121 performed the hell out of it.”

Listen to Japanese Breakfast’s cover of “Say It Ain’t So” alongside the rest of the live EP below.

Japanese Breakfast’s cover of “Say It Ain’t So” is truly a full circle moment. The song was originally recorded at Electric Lady for Weezer’s hit 1994 record, Blue Album.

“Recording at Electric Lady was truly the perfect experience,” Japanese Breakfast says. “The longer I’ve worked as a recording artist, the more I’ve realized it’s the simple, stripped down songs that are the hardest to get right. Having the opportunity to revisit the core catalog of my songwriting in a room with so much history, surrounded by engineers and gear of the highest caliber, it was just a dream come true.”

Check out the tracklist for Japanese Breakfast – Live At Electric Lady below.

Japanese Breakfast – Live At Electric Lady Tracklist:

01 – “Tactics”
02 – “Lindsey”
03 – “Ballad 0”
04 – “Boyish”
05 – “Be Sweet”
06 – “Kokomo, IN”
07 – “Savage Good Boy”
08 – “Say It Ain’t So”

Faye Webster recently took part in Live At Electric Lady, where she covered Fleet Foxes’ “If You Need To, Keep Time On Me.”

Japanese Breakfast is no stranger to covers. In fact, she recently performed covers of Sufjan Stevens’ “Romulus” and Dolly Parton’s “Here You Come Again.”

Most Popular