HomeMusic NewsNew ReleasesListen: Alabama Shakes' Brittany Howard shares 'History Repeats,' announces forthcoming debut solo...

Listen: Alabama Shakes’ Brittany Howard shares ‘History Repeats,’ announces forthcoming debut solo record ‘Jaime’

Alabama Shakes lead vocalist and guitarist Brittany Howard has announced her forthcoming debut solo album, Jaime, which is set for release on September 20th via ATO Records. As part of the announcement, she’s dropped the record’s lead track, “History Repeats.”

“‘History Repeats’ is as much a personal song about us as a human species,” Howard explains in a statement. “Our times of success may propel us forward, but our repeating failures hold us back from evolving into harmony.” The track comes driven by a pounding drum beat, a jazzy guitar line, and Howard’s smooth vocals that will always keep you guessing as she lets her voice take the song in new directions.

The album Jaime is named after her late sister, who died of cancer when they were still teens. Jaime taught Howard to play piano and write poetry, and Howard states that “she definitely did shape me as a human being, but the record it not about her. It’s about me. I’m pretty candid about myself and who I am and what I believe. Which is why I needed to do it on my own.”

Listen to “History Repeats” and check out the tracklist for Jaime below.

Jaime Tracklist:

01 – “History Repeats”
02 – “He Loves Me”
03 – “Georgia”
04 – “Stay High”
05 – “Tomorrow”
06 – “Short and Sweet”
07 – “13th Century Metal”
08 – “Baby”
09 – “Goat Head”
10 – “Presence”
11 – “Run To Me”
Catch Howard at Rebel on September 22nd.

Lead photo courtesy of Danny Clinch.

Most Popular