Listen: André Ethier sings of work, dreams, and repetition on new track ‘Nature Compels Me’

'Further Up Island' drops on May 28th

André Ethier is readying his forthcoming album, Further Up Island, which is set for release on May 28th via Telephone Explosion Records, and today he’s shared a new track called “Nature Compels Me.”

“Nature Compels Me,” which marks the follow-up to “Wild Goldfish,” sees Ethier singing of work, dreams, and repetition atop catchy percussion, dreamy acoustic guitar lines, and silky saxophone riffs from Joseph Shabason.

“I think this one is a meditation on work and dreams,” Ethier explains. “Repetition of daily patterns until you finally float off into the air like a buzzing fly or a saxophone solo.”

Listen to “Nature Compels Me” below.

Further Up Island is set to serve as the final volume in a trilogy of solo records, following 2017’s Under Grape Leaves and 2019’s Croak In The Weeds.

“These albums are using the same palette,” Ethier adds. “The tools Sandro and I used on all three of them are similar so that the songs can almost be interchangeable. It’s a way of giving time to a creative relationship so it can blossom, like developing a shorthand with a co-worker. Nurturing that process allows it to grow.”

Revisit the tracklist for Further Up Island below.
Further Up Island Tracklist:

01 – “Are You Going”
02 – “Doodah Man”
03 – “Nature Compels Me”
04 – “Flies”
05 – “Rolling Stones”
06 – “Bc”
07 – “Slow the Wheel”
08 – “The Moon is Round and Empty”
09 – “Wild Goldfish”
10 – “You Ride My Mind”
11 – “Wild Blueberries”
12 – “I’ll Reject Myself”
13 – “On the Wheel”
14 – “My Mind”