Listen: Angel Olsen shares new orchestral rendition of ‘Waving, Smiling’

'Alive and Dying (Waving, Smiling)' is part of 'Song of the Lark and Other Far Memories'

Angel Olsen is gearing up for the release of a new box set called Song Of The Lark And Other Far Memories on May 7th via Jagjaguwar, and today she’s shared a new orchestral version of “Waving, Smiling” called “Alive and Dying (Waving, Smiling).”

The beautiful, velvety new version of the track sees Olsen joined by an 11-piece orchestra, performing string arrangements by Jherek Bischoff. “Alive and Dying (Waving, Smiling)” will appear on the box set’s bonus album, Far Memory.

“This song is all about chapters closing, and learning to let go of things I can’t understand,” Olsen explains. “It’s very me – I will always nosedive into love, and suffering can definitely come with that. When I hear this version the strings really bring the song to its necessary bittersweet boiling point.”

Listen to “Alive and Dying (Waving, Smiling)” below.

Olsen released All Mirrors back in October of 2019, and then released some raw stripped down reworking of the album’s tracks on a new collection called Whole New Mess. Now, Olsen will be collecting both albums in Song Of The Lark And Other Far Memories, along with a bonus album called Far Memory. Additionally, the box set will include a 40-page book with photography and early journal entries from the albums’ recording processes.

Check out the tracklist for Far Memory below.
Far Memory Tracklist:

01 – “All Mirrors (Johnny Jewel Remix)”
02 – “New Love Cassette (Mark Ronson Remix)”
03 – “More Than This (Roxy Music Cover)”
04 – “Smaller”
05 – “It’s Every Season (Whole New Mess)”
06 – “Alive And Dying (Waving, Smiling)”
Lead photo courtesy of Kylie Coutts.