Listen: Big Thief drop new single ‘UFOF,’ announce forthcoming album

'U.F.O.F.' is set for release on May 3

Big Thief has just announced their highly anticipated third record, U.F.O.F., and as part of the announcement they’ve released their first single, “UFOF.”

The last “F” in “UFOF” stands for “Friend,” and the track is reflective, while also looking forward into the unknown. “Making friends with the unknown… All my songs are about this,” frontwoman Adrianne Lenker explains in a statement. “If the nature of life is change and impermanence, I’d rather be uncomfortable awake in that truth than lost in denial.”

Listen to “UFOF” and check out the tracklist for U.F.O.F below.

U.F.O.F. Tracklist:

01 – “Contact”
02 – “UFOF”
03 – “Cattails”
04 – “From”
05 – “Open Desert”
06 – “Orange”
07 – “Century”
08 – “Strange”
09 – “Betsy”
10 – “Terminal Paradise”
11 – “Jenni”
12 – “Magic Dealer”

U.F.O.F. is set for release on May 3rd. You can catch Big Thief at the Phoenix on October 16th.