Listen: Big Thief release ‘Not,’ announce forthcoming album ‘Two Hands’

'Two Hands' is set for release on October 11

Following the release of U.F.O.F. a few months ago, Big Thief have announced their second album of 2019, Two Hands, which is set for release on October 11th via 4AD. As part of the announcement, the indie-folk outfit have released the album’s lead single, “Not.”

While U.F.O.F. was recorded in the forestry of the Washington state woods, according to a statement, Two Hands will explore the orange desert near Texas’ Sonic Ranch. “Two Hands has the songs that I’m the most proud of; I can imagine myself singing them when I’m old,” frontwoman Adrianne Lenker explains. “Musically and lyrically, you can’t break it down much further than this. It’s already bare-bones.”

The first preview for the album, “Not,” is a track the band frequently plays live, and truly highlights a raw, visceral style of songwriting. Lenker lets out harmonic howls atop a distorted, reverberating instrumental line.

Listen to “Not” and check out the tracklist for Two Hands below.

Two Hands Tracklist:

01 – “Rock and Sing”
02 – “Forgotten Eyes”
03 – “The Toy”
04 – “Two Hands”
05 – “Those Girls”
06 – “Shoulders”
07 – “Not”
08 – “Wolf”
09 – “Replaced”
10 – “Cut My Hair”
Lead photo courtesy of Mikey Buishas.