Listen: Big Thief’s Adrianne Lenker shares new track ‘anything,’ announces two new albums

'songs' and 'instrumentals' are set for release on October 23

Big Thief’s Adrianne Lenker has announced that she’s releasing two new solo albums called songs and instrumentals, which are set for release on October 23rd. As part of the announcement, Lenker has shared a new track called “anything.”

The 13 tracks were created earlier this year after Big Thief’s spring and summer tour were cancelled due to the pandemic. After the cancellation, Lenker took to the Berkshire Mountains to write some tunes in a cabin with sound engineer Phil Weinrobe.

“I am very proud of these recordings, though they were born in a time of grief, both personal and as a collective species,” Lenker writes. “It feels strange to try and pair words with the release of music. I don’t know if there is a graceful way to do in these times. Please, if this is something that you feel you won’t benefit from, just let it pass away. If you could use some support in the form of songs, give it a spin. These songs have helped me heal. I hope that at least in some small way this music can be a friend to you.”

Listen to “anything” and check out the tracklist for songs and instrumentals below.

songs Tracklist:

01 – “two reverse”
02 – “ingydar”
03 – “anything”
04 – “forwards beckon rebound”
05 – “heavy focus”
06 – “half return”
07 – “come”
08 – “zombie girl”
09 – “not a lot, just forever”
10 – “dragon eyes”
11 – “my angel”

instrumentals Tracklist:

01 – “music for indigo”
02 – “mostly chimes”
Lead photo courtesy of Genesis Baez.