HomeMusicListen: Born Ruffians share double a-side 'Husha' / 'Heat Wave,' announce final...

Listen: Born Ruffians share double a-side ‘Husha’ / ‘Heat Wave,’ announce final LP of trilogy series

Following the release of JUICE and SQUEEZE, Toronto’s Born Ruffians have announced the final album of their trilogy, PULP, which is set for release on April 16th via the band’s own Wavy Haze Records. As part of the announcement, they’ve shared two new singles, “Heat Wave” and “Husha.”

“We didn’t set out to write a trilogy,” frontman Luke Lalonde explains of releasing three albums in just 12 months. “We just wrote a lot of songs that we liked and it seemed a shame to bury any of them. So, early on in our recording process we looked at this great big list of all the songs and said ‘let’s break this up into three record: JUICE, SQUEEZE and PULP.”

While “Husha” has been out as a bootleg on YouTube for almost ten years, it’s a catchy, soft track that revolves around Lalonde’s wails.. “Heat Wave,” on the other hand, is more of a dreamy, slow-burning groove with some almost psychedelic instrumentals.

Listen to “Husha” and “Heat Wave” and check out the tracklist for PULP below.

PULP Tracklist:

01 – “Checkin’ Out”
02 – “Types of People”
03 – “Heat Wave”
04 – “Beyond the Lightning”
05 – “Ring Finger”
06 – “Husha”
07 – “Happy Parasites”
Lead photo courtesy of Vanessa Heins.

Most Popular